Vegan Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Wow, these were delicious!!! I made some changes based on preference (way less sugar- 1/2 cup turbinado is the only sweetener I used, whole wheat flour in place of the white, extra baking powder in place of the baking soda). Then I made some changes based on what I had on hand (grapeseed oil in place of canola, almond milk in place of the coconut milk, and ginger in place of the nutmeg. They turned out just lovely and my family was very pleased. Thank you for a delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Loved this recipes but changed it up a little. Instead of the 1 cup of canola oil I used 1/2 c. coconut oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also added 1 c. of chopped walnuts. And I topped them with a streusel topping of 1/4 c flour, 1/4 c each brown and white sugar with 1 Tb. vegan margarine. And instead of 12 muffins- it made 24 big ones.- thrilled with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have any eggs to make my usual banana bread recipe, and now I'm not sure i'll go back to that one. I substituted vegetable oil for canola oil, and added in 3 scoops of Greek honey yogurt and 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce. The muffins turned out great - even the skeptical husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
its the best banana bread recipe i've had. I also halved the white sugar, probably could have halved the brown sugar as well. This is going to be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The only thing my kids didn't like is that I cut them off after two! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryannelamarre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
These were very good! Flavorful and not too heavy. I didn't have coconut milk so I used soy, and used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I think I'll try all applesauce next time, because there will definitely be a next time! Thanks for a wonderfully tasty vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very good and moist. I used 1 cup applesauce instead of oil. These MUST be cooked as muffins! I used a loaf pan and it doubled the cook time and the outside became overcooked and hard. A great muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Choate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Thought these were great, used half whole wheat flour half all purpose, substituted almond milk instead, and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup total, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I wanted to bake for my daughter and her vegan college roommate. This was a perfect recipe! The only change I made was to add 1 cup of vegan chocolate chips. This might be why I had enough batter left over to make a medium loaf cake too. I found that one overfull icecream scoop per muffin was just right. Ten minutes in the pan before turning out on the rack worked, with just a slight amount of prying. I'm bringing to recipe with me when I deliver the muffins to prove that they're vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I just made these muffins and for the life of me can not figure out how it says it makes a dozen, that is exactly what I wanted but by the time I finished filling my muffin pan of 12 I still had half of the batter left. I ended up putting it in 3 small loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States