Vegan Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent banana bread recipe! Due to on hand ingredients, I used almond milk and melted coconut oil. I was also about a banana short, I'd say. I mashed the two bananas that I had in a two cup measure and then added applesauce to make two cups. Because I was having a chocolate craving, I mixed wet and dry ingredients together before adding cinnamon and nutmeg, split the batter in half, and added the spices to half and dark chocolate chips to the other. Both came out fabulous! I baked them in loaf pans instead of as muffins. It took about 45-50 minutes for them to cook through. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wollens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
BE AWARE this recipe as written makes 24 MUFFINS not 12. They are delicious, but now I get to find out how well they freeze. I used vanilla soymilk, cut the white sugar in half and substituted applesauce for most of the oil. Added chopped walnuts and topped with cinnamon sugar before baking. You would never know they are vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very good. I made exactly as recipe is written and they turned out really good. Next time I make these I'll be cutting the cinnamon down to one teaspoon not two because I felt that it took away from the banana flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbermuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Loved this recipes but changed it up a little. Instead of the 1 cup of canola oil I used 1/2 c. coconut oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also added 1 c. of chopped walnuts. And I topped them with a streusel topping of 1/4 c flour, 1/4 c each brown and white sugar with 1 Tb. vegan margarine. And instead of 12 muffins- it made 24 big ones.- thrilled with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We love this recipe!! I made a couple of subs, including using whole wheat flour instead of white (3/4 cup ww for each 1 cup white), replacing the Canola oil with coconut oil and the coconut milk with pumpkin spice soy milk (it's what I had on hand, sounds weird but it worked!) Im making my second batch right now because they are great little snacks when I'm up with the baby in the wee hours of the night, and I ate the last one this morning!! :-) yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very good and moist. I used 1 cup applesauce instead of oil. These MUST be cooked as muffins! I used a loaf pan and it doubled the cook time and the outside became overcooked and hard. A great muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I rarely bake because of mishaps, but these were so easy and perfectly moist. I'm not vegan so I threw in chocolate chips. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
its the best banana bread recipe i've had. I also halved the white sugar, probably could have halved the brown sugar as well. This is going to be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Thought these were great, used half whole wheat flour half all purpose, substituted almond milk instead, and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup total, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I wanted to bake for my daughter and her vegan college roommate. This was a perfect recipe! The only change I made was to add 1 cup of vegan chocolate chips. This might be why I had enough batter left over to make a medium loaf cake too. I found that one overfull icecream scoop per muffin was just right. Ten minutes in the pan before turning out on the rack worked, with just a slight amount of prying. I'm bringing to recipe with me when I deliver the muffins to prove that they're vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States