Vegan Arepas Made with Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not gonna lie, I was very curious as to how this would turn out because it seems like a very random combination of things, but this was really tasty! Both my husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Falloretta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WellRed
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made a few adjustments based on my preferences and what I had on hand: tempeh instead of tofu, red onion instead of white, a dash of smoked paprika in the beans, plantain instead of banana, a little olive oil and lime juice in the salsa. Excellent and refreshing! Thanks angloesque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Amazing dish, sounded so strange but tasted so very good! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! Interesting combination that works really well together. I couldn't find any ripe mangoes so I just used tomatoes. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I was excited at the ingredients as I loved everything listed. I agree with the reviewer who said this would be good even without the Tofu. I will try chicken or shrimp next time, just for variety and a protein component. I am also gluten intolerant and a healthy tasty recipe like this is always a joy to find. For those who had challenges with the cooking of the Tofu and Polenta: I use the broiler method to cook these items. This recipe came out great. Just need to be careful not to overcook or they will get tough. It takes a little practice to perfect but is yummy once you get the knack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morgy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I followed it exactly as written except I used grits (cooked then broiled) instead of polenta, as I was out of corn meal and I prefer to make my own vs. buying pre-packaged. Also added some cherry tomatoes to the salsa for color and dipped the tofu in marinade of garlic, olive oil, liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce and soy. My non-vegan bf went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious! Easy to cook, too. Makes great leftovers. I also followed someone's suggestion to add the avocado to the salsa which worked wonderfully. I'm definitely adding this one to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I kind of just threw it all together and next time I won't add the tofu - I didn't think it really needed it since it already had so much texture and flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKELFISH27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I was looking for something a little different, and this was it. Easy to make and great flavors. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
SO GOOD! I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised how well everything went together! It's 5 stars as-is in my book, but here are the suggestions I'd make to make it even better: -Press the liquid out of the tofu and then let sit in marinade of your choice for 1 hour in the fridge before cooking. -Add onion powder, cumin, and some of the diced jalapeno to the blender with the beans. -I used home cooked beans - just under 2 cups with liquid to fill in the space is equivalent to a can. -Use red onion for a little more spice and color. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States