Vegan Arepas Made with Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
My husband raved about this at least four times before finishing this meal. "Best one we've tried since our diet!" "You can make this one again!" "This was so good." "Good dinner, Jenn." I can't wait to make it again! Even the kids liked it (14 months and 2.5 years old) Things I changed because of simplicity/what we had in the house. Marinated tofu in teriyaki sauce for about 20 minutes. Grilled the onions for the salsa since we don't really like raw onions. Omitted the jalepeno because we didn't have one. Added dried cilantro to the salsa. Omitted the polenta and just used the tofu on the bottom. Side of quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe. When blending the beans I added roasted garlic and sautéed onions to the mix. I also substituted tempeh for the tofu for a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I loved this dish. It is fresh and interesting and fairly easy to make. The presentation is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not gonna lie, I was very curious as to how this would turn out because it seems like a very random combination of things, but this was really tasty! Both my husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Falloretta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WellRed
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made a few adjustments based on my preferences and what I had on hand: tempeh instead of tofu, red onion instead of white, a dash of smoked paprika in the beans, plantain instead of banana, a little olive oil and lime juice in the salsa. Excellent and refreshing! Thanks angloesque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Amazing dish, sounded so strange but tasted so very good! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! Interesting combination that works really well together. I couldn't find any ripe mangoes so I just used tomatoes. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I was excited at the ingredients as I loved everything listed. I agree with the reviewer who said this would be good even without the Tofu. I will try chicken or shrimp next time, just for variety and a protein component. I am also gluten intolerant and a healthy tasty recipe like this is always a joy to find. For those who had challenges with the cooking of the Tofu and Polenta: I use the broiler method to cook these items. This recipe came out great. Just need to be careful not to overcook or they will get tough. It takes a little practice to perfect but is yummy once you get the knack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morgy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I followed it exactly as written except I used grits (cooked then broiled) instead of polenta, as I was out of corn meal and I prefer to make my own vs. buying pre-packaged. Also added some cherry tomatoes to the salsa for color and dipped the tofu in marinade of garlic, olive oil, liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce and soy. My non-vegan bf went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious! Easy to cook, too. Makes great leftovers. I also followed someone's suggestion to add the avocado to the salsa which worked wonderfully. I'm definitely adding this one to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States