Vegan Arepas Made with Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
What a delightful surprise! We are a family of gluten intolerants and we are always on a search for tasty and healthful meals! We were very pleased with this original and intriguing repast! Thank you for sharing! (we do cook our own dried beans (rather than canned) and always have them 'on the ready'!) Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made this without the tofu or salt. The fruit in this arepa takes some getting used to, but is tasty! Next time for more color, I will use a red onion! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PinkBadgers
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I was skeptical of how these unique flavors would mesh, but everything complements everything else quite nicely! I made fresh polenta, which needed a few more minutes under the broiler. I had never broiled polenta before and the crispiness was fantastic! Makes for an interesting dish to serve skeptical crowds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Awesome. I will be making this again and again. Good as leftovers, and pretty enough for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I'm so glad that I made these. The flavor combinations were so unique with each bite and the textures were fantastic. I sprinkled McCormick Jerk Seasoning on the tofu and used spiced basil polenta. Surprisingly filling, I'll make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Hubby and I LOVED this! It was also quite possibly the prettiest thing I've ever made. I cut up the avocado and mixed it in with the mango salsa which kept it from turning brown. We really enjoyed the mix of savory (in the beans) and the sweetness of the banana and mango. It made great leftovers and the salsa was 10 times better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great starting point but I did make a few changes to spice things up so I'm not giving 5 stars on that basis - but the finished product was great! Marinated the tofu in a sauce of blended chipotle pepers, oil, and garlic. Made polenta from scratch with soy milk, oven roasted tomato, and diced jalepeno. Seared both the final sliced polenta and tofu instead of broiling. Followed the directions to plate and really enjoyed the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is an outstanding recipe! I wasn't sure how all of the different flavors would come together (mango and tofu?) but both my husband and I loved it. My husband added about 1/2 teaspoon cumin, a dash of sesame oil and a dash of soy sauce to the beans, which was really good. This is something we'll serve often because it's simple and a unique dish to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was pretty darn yummy! I used blueberries in place of the mango. The only reason this isn't 5 stars is because the tofu itself was a bit bland. Next time I will marinate it for an hour before broiling. Not sure what flavors I'll try for the marinade, something mild but definitely with garlic. Otherwise delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best meal I've had in a year! I don't have good luck with mangoes, so I used a can of pineapple chunks in its' place. I also marinated the tofu with the pineapple juice and some soy sauce. Fabulous and easy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States