Vegan Arepas Made with Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I was looking for something a little different, and this was it. Easy to make and great flavors. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
SO GOOD! I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised how well everything went together! It's 5 stars as-is in my book, but here are the suggestions I'd make to make it even better: -Press the liquid out of the tofu and then let sit in marinade of your choice for 1 hour in the fridge before cooking. -Add onion powder, cumin, and some of the diced jalapeno to the blender with the beans. -I used home cooked beans - just under 2 cups with liquid to fill in the space is equivalent to a can. -Use red onion for a little more spice and color. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent! I made it just as it is in the recipe. My vegan friend had two helpings and talked about it to his friends! Well done and thanks angloesque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was delicious, easy to make, and looked great! I used frozen cubed mangos which made it a lot easier than peeling and seeding a fresh one. I also used silken tofu. The first time I plated it according to the directions, the tofu kept sliding off of the polenta because of the black bean sauce. The second time I put the tofu on the polenta then spooned the sauce over the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best meal I've had in a year! I don't have good luck with mangoes, so I used a can of pineapple chunks in its' place. I also marinated the tofu with the pineapple juice and some soy sauce. Fabulous and easy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was pretty darn yummy! I used blueberries in place of the mango. The only reason this isn't 5 stars is because the tofu itself was a bit bland. Next time I will marinate it for an hour before broiling. Not sure what flavors I'll try for the marinade, something mild but definitely with garlic. Otherwise delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is an outstanding recipe! I wasn't sure how all of the different flavors would come together (mango and tofu?) but both my husband and I loved it. My husband added about 1/2 teaspoon cumin, a dash of sesame oil and a dash of soy sauce to the beans, which was really good. This is something we'll serve often because it's simple and a unique dish to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great starting point but I did make a few changes to spice things up so I'm not giving 5 stars on that basis - but the finished product was great! Marinated the tofu in a sauce of blended chipotle pepers, oil, and garlic. Made polenta from scratch with soy milk, oven roasted tomato, and diced jalepeno. Seared both the final sliced polenta and tofu instead of broiling. Followed the directions to plate and really enjoyed the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Hubby and I LOVED this! It was also quite possibly the prettiest thing I've ever made. I cut up the avocado and mixed it in with the mango salsa which kept it from turning brown. We really enjoyed the mix of savory (in the beans) and the sweetness of the banana and mango. It made great leftovers and the salsa was 10 times better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I'm so glad that I made these. The flavor combinations were so unique with each bite and the textures were fantastic. I sprinkled McCormick Jerk Seasoning on the tofu and used spiced basil polenta. Surprisingly filling, I'll make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States