Vegan Arepas Made with Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WellRed
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made a few adjustments based on my preferences and what I had on hand: tempeh instead of tofu, red onion instead of white, a dash of smoked paprika in the beans, plantain instead of banana, a little olive oil and lime juice in the salsa. Excellent and refreshing! Thanks angloesque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Amazing dish, sounded so strange but tasted so very good! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! Interesting combination that works really well together. I couldn't find any ripe mangoes so I just used tomatoes. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I was excited at the ingredients as I loved everything listed. I agree with the reviewer who said this would be good even without the Tofu. I will try chicken or shrimp next time, just for variety and a protein component. I am also gluten intolerant and a healthy tasty recipe like this is always a joy to find. For those who had challenges with the cooking of the Tofu and Polenta: I use the broiler method to cook these items. This recipe came out great. Just need to be careful not to overcook or they will get tough. It takes a little practice to perfect but is yummy once you get the knack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morgy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I followed it exactly as written except I used grits (cooked then broiled) instead of polenta, as I was out of corn meal and I prefer to make my own vs. buying pre-packaged. Also added some cherry tomatoes to the salsa for color and dipped the tofu in marinade of garlic, olive oil, liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce and soy. My non-vegan bf went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious! Easy to cook, too. Makes great leftovers. I also followed someone's suggestion to add the avocado to the salsa which worked wonderfully. I'm definitely adding this one to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I kind of just threw it all together and next time I won't add the tofu - I didn't think it really needed it since it already had so much texture and flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKELFISH27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I was looking for something a little different, and this was it. Easy to make and great flavors. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
SO GOOD! I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised how well everything went together! It's 5 stars as-is in my book, but here are the suggestions I'd make to make it even better: -Press the liquid out of the tofu and then let sit in marinade of your choice for 1 hour in the fridge before cooking. -Add onion powder, cumin, and some of the diced jalapeno to the blender with the beans. -I used home cooked beans - just under 2 cups with liquid to fill in the space is equivalent to a can. -Use red onion for a little more spice and color. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent! I made it just as it is in the recipe. My vegan friend had two helpings and talked about it to his friends! Well done and thanks angloesque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States