Vegan Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I wish this recipe had a face so I could punch it. I was in a rush, so I only read the first two reviews, neither of which mentioned the salty issue. And while my baker's instinct said that there was too much salt and baking soda in the recipe, I followed it anyways. These were so salty. If I wasn't fortunate enough to have some leftover vegan orange/cream cheese frosting in the refrigerator, they would have been inedible. A shame too, because the muffins would have been delicious if I had followed my instinct and not the recipe. How anyone who follows this recipe exactly can give it a positive review is beyond me. I give it a two because there's a lot of potential here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
5 stars for the concept, that is for sure. The carrot and apple mixture are great together! 1 star lost due to the needed tweaking. I only used 1 tsp of baking soda, and 3/4 tsp of salt - otherwise we would have tasted nothing but those two ingredients! Also, I omit the oil to cut fat, and replaced it with two small mashed bananas. These muffins turned out fabulously! Thanks so much for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This muffin recipe is definately a keeper- however, I changed the cooking time to 400 degrees F for 20 to 25 minutes since the batter is so dense. Yet, everytime I have made these quick breads, I am quick to notice the taste of either the baking soda or baking powder; I am in the process in trying to eliminate this. I also use three bananas as my egg substitute which seems to work just fine. My advice, use the recipe as a guide and let the creative take over the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I work for program that provides healthy snacks to students in elemantary school. These muffins worked great! I decreased the salt and used 3 mashed bananas instead of the eagg replacer. The kids love these. I made them into mini muffins and was able to get about 72.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Thanks for this great recipe. I love the muffins and they are the perfect snack for my todders, who can't have dairy or eggs right now! The only changes I made was to use 1 c. of whole wheat flour and 1.5 c. of white flour. I cut the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. as other reviews said they found them to be salty and I cooked them at 400 degrees for 20 min. I will be making these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Whenever someone says vegans eat nothing nice - shove one of these delicious muffins in front of their face and they'll shut up! They are easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
For a good for you muffin that still tastes good this recipe is great. I did cut the salt down by half, add a little more applesauce and a little less oil, and replace 1/2 cup flour with whole wheat flour. They turned out great and very moist. Also an easy way to sneak in some fruit and veggies for my 3 year old. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This is one of the best muffin recipies I have ever made! And the best part is that it's vegan! They are moist and delicious. I made smaller muffins so I got 24 instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Five star, but I made many adjustments: Half whole wheat flour and half white, omitted the white sugar and used 1 cup raw sugar, 3 tsp soda and 3 tsp powder, half the cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp sea salt, no egg replacer, 2 medium bananas, 1 cup unsweetened applecauce, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup water (all else the same). Lastly, if you use organic apples, you can grate them with the peel on (they do get soft). 350 for 25 minutes was perfect - they were fantabulous! This makes two dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
These didn't work for me. They were very heavy too mushy for muffins. My kids wouldn't touch them and they usually like anything in muffin form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States