Vegan Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Just made theese and they are pretty good. I made a few changes to suite me. After the carrots & apple were grated and added 3 t. sugar mixed together and let sit to draw out the water, squeezed them dry and then added to the flour mix. I also used 6 real eggs, the applesauce and oil but had to up the flour content to 4 c. With these changes the batch made 2 dozen. Very good warmed and split with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
i made a bunch of changes, of course, i left out the white sugar, added figs, lemon juice, maple syrup, omitted the oil, added a bit more apple sauce, halved the baking soda and salt. i recommend baking at a higher temp, they're a dense, delicious muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
EXCELLENT muffin! It is very hard to find a low oil/fat one that does not come out rubbery, but this recipes has solved that! Thanks for the great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
pretty good all round. bit too sweet but that was my fault as i used 3 really ripe bananas instead of egg. i used 1 cup of wholemeal flour in place of just plain flour. i also cut the salt in half and the baking soda down to 3tsp. cooked for 20 mins at 400F. all this based on other reviews. i managed to make 18 with my batch and my vegan sister gave them a big thumbs up. cheers guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These were great. Moist, but with a healthy dose of flavour and certainly didn't taste outdoorsy. I made them with real eggs and used the 1.5 tsp of salt and 3tsp of baking soda suggestion and baked for 25mins at 400F. They made 16 in total. Very moist, almost sticky, but delicious. If you're getting bored hand grating carrots, try them in your blender, it should work just fine. Same for the apples. I think it really needs a lemon icing to carry that carrot flavour. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I just made this muffin for my egg/milk allergic baby. It came out incredibly fluffy and yummy! Just followed the recipe exactly and came out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing, can't wait to feed my son tomorrow morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
5 stars for the concept, that is for sure. The carrot and apple mixture are great together! 1 star lost due to the needed tweaking. I only used 1 tsp of baking soda, and 3/4 tsp of salt - otherwise we would have tasted nothing but those two ingredients! Also, I omit the oil to cut fat, and replaced it with two small mashed bananas. These muffins turned out fabulously! Thanks so much for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Finally, a good recipe using egg replacer! This is a really good recipe. My 3-year-old loves these muffins. I followed the recipe to the letter, but next time I'll try using 1/2 whole wheat flour for a slighly healthier option. My muffins overflowed the cups, so watch out! I used Ener-G brand egg replacer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
These turned out great. I have been needing some fast breakfast food in the morning and these work great. I used 3 bananas in place of the egg replacer and added raisins....they are great with pb:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Thanks for this great recipe. I love the muffins and they are the perfect snack for my todders, who can't have dairy or eggs right now! The only changes I made was to use 1 c. of whole wheat flour and 1.5 c. of white flour. I cut the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. as other reviews said they found them to be salty and I cooked them at 400 degrees for 20 min. I will be making these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States