Vegan Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Excellent Yummy Muffins. My son is allergic to eggs, milk and peanuts so I was trying to find a recipe for some carrot muffins and came across this one. I made a few changes below and it turned out amazing. Here are my changes... I cut back on the sugar and only used a 1 cup of brown. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and then 1 and a half of all purpose flour. I only used 1.5 teaspoons of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of salt. I didn't have any egg replacer so I used 3 mashed banana's in place of it. I also made mini muffins because they were for my toddlers. I fiddled with the timing and found that they were best at 375 for approximately 25-30 minutes. They seemed a little gooey when I first took them out which I am assuming is because of all the banana but after I let them sit they were amazing. I put them in the fridge over night and just had my sons begging for more. So yummy...more sugar then I would want but at least I was able to sneak in some carrots, bananas and apple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious!! I'm not a big measurer, but I did tweak the recipe toward what I wanted. I used all the same basic dry ingredients (incidentally it was NOT salty at all baked with my alterations for whatever reason) except 1.5 c whole wheat flour and 1 cup unbleached enriched flour (rather than the all-purpose), an extra tsp of cinnamon, a total of 5 med carrots, one apple, and one zucchini, and two eggs (rather than the egg substitute because I'm not vegan). Sooooooooo moist and wonderful and I don't feel guilty eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Five star, but I made many adjustments: Half whole wheat flour and half white, omitted the white sugar and used 1 cup raw sugar, 3 tsp soda and 3 tsp powder, half the cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp sea salt, no egg replacer, 2 medium bananas, 1 cup unsweetened applecauce, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup water (all else the same). Lastly, if you use organic apples, you can grate them with the peel on (they do get soft). 350 for 25 minutes was perfect - they were fantabulous! This makes two dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is a great base recipe. I got creative and these turned out SUPER delicious! I used: only 1 tsp of baking soda and 1/2 tsp of salt, 2 c. whole wheat flour & 1/2 c. rolled oats, only 3 real eggs, 1 mashed banana & 1c. fat-free plain yogurt instead of the applesauce, and I added a tsp of ground ginger for good measure. Oh and sunflower seeds on top for a little crunch :) yum... these will be a breakfast staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
SO delicious! You would never know they were full of healthy ingredients. I made only a couple of minor changes. As other reviewers did, I decreased the amount of baking soda and salt. I also used real eggs instead of the substitute. And I added some raisins. I definitely plan to make these often. They will be a great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Sooo good! I used 1 tsp baking powder and halved the salt. I used 4 eggs instead of 6. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have to give this recipe four stars because I also changed up the baking soda/salt amounts. I used only 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp salt. I also used one large banana instead of the oil. With these changes these muffins turned out great! They had a good spicy flavor to them and were very moist. My husband and I have been eating them for breakfast, snacks, and dessert all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love these muffins! I use this recipe as a base for other vegan muffins-- My favorite combination so far is strawberry banana! I always add an extra touch of brown sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were fantastic! I did reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp. and the baking soda to 1 tsp. I also raised the oven temp to 400 and baked 20 minutes because I was afraid they would be too gooey from all the moisture in the apples and carrots. Also, I used corn starch instead of egg replacer. They turned out moist and delicious. I think next time I'm going to try them with all whole wheat flour and agave nectar in place of the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe. My kids loved it. I ofcourse followed the needed tweeking, less baking soda and salt. I also omitted the oil, but next time I won't because the muffins stuck to the muffic cups. I used liquide egg substitute and added chopped walnuts. I used medium muffin cups, it made 36 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States