Vegan Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Felix Beaulieu
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
They turned out to be quite gigantic and very much delicious! I put 1 cup of honey instead of the white sugar so it's a little healthier, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've made this several times now and love it!!!I followed others suggestions, omitted the oil for mashed banana and changed to 1 teaspoon soda and 3/4 salt. Also I added 1 tbls chia seeds(added to apple sauce for a few minutes before mixing to "gel"),1 tbls ground flax seed and 1/4 cup walnuts.I also added a sprinkle of ginger, allspice, and nutmeg. I have made it with and without the white sugar. I think with the banana you can cut out that sugar and not miss it at all. Thanks for the recipe this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very tasty and so moist. I made these gluten free also using Betty Crocker's gf rice flour blend. You have to cook them longer because for some reason gf baked goods take longer to bake. They are really moist and shredding the carrots and apples was easy with my cuisinart. The only problem I had was they stuck to the muffin papers and I'm not quite sure how to avoid this next time. I doubled the batch for and the second round I cooked them 7 minutes longer and sprayed the papers with oil but had the same result. Maybe omit the papers and just grease the pan as the instructions suggest. Totally worth a remake though; these are the best muffins I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
So so so so good! Having read other reviews, I followed with similar suggestions of substituting some wheat flour for the white (about 1.5 wheat, 1 white), reducing the salt to 1 tsp., and substituting one mashed banana for the 1/4 cup of oil. And because all I had were baby carrots which were a nightmare to shred, I substituted 2 cups of shredded squash for the 2 cups of shredded carrots. I then cooked at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Moist and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
After adjustments to this recipe these muffins were so good. I used (instead) 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 3/4 of salt. And for the egg replacer I used 3 smashed bananas. I am definitely going to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Just out of the oven taste to salty next time I going to use only half salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
We made these and altered them just a bit. We added 4 tablespoons of whey powder for added protein and cut the oil in half and added a little more applesauce. We baked a few with walnuts. This is a delicious muffin and we'll save the recipe in our treasured recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I have made this 4 or 5 times as a vegan option for fellowship at church. Everyone loves them! They are always gone before the doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sew What?

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The final product turned out to be a 4.5 star muffin, but a lot of changes had to be made, so I'm knocking this recipe as written down to 3. Otherwise, it's a great starting point. 1) The sweetness was too much. I had 1 cup brown+1/4 cup white, but this could probably be reduced to just 1 cup brown (all the apple and applesauce already provides sweetness, as well as banana-see below)... 2) I didn't want to use up 9 tsp my egg replacer, so 3 mashed bananas substituted just fine (which also provides sweetness)... 3) Like many reviewers said, the baking soda and salt was too much, 1 tsp baking soda and 3/4 tsp salt should be enough)... 4) I used white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. This made it healthier and I couldn't tell any difference... 5) Finally, because the batter is wet and dense, put it in for 400 ºF for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
LOVE this recipe. My kids have egg allergies and its great to find a delicious recipe that is also good for them. I substitute 1c whole wheat flour, added some ground flax seed and some wheat bran. But these rise quite nice and are super moist compared to my failed attempts at baking egg free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeybee333

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States