Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe, although if you are looking for a typical dry crumbly cornbread, this is not what you're looking for. I doubled the recipe, used maple syrup instead of agave, and baked for 40ish minutes in an 8x8 pan. Made a delicious, sweet, almost cake like cornbread which was awesome with a spicy vegan red beans and rice. The leftovers were also wonderful the next morning with a little vegan cream cheese and fresh fruit for a great breakfast. I will make this again and again. This one is going into my "favorites" file. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These were INCREDIBLE! Taste WAY better than regular cornbread and MUCH more MOIST! Only thing I had to do differently was bake for an extra 5 min (25 min total) and they were perfect. Thanks so much, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These were excellent. I used maple syrup and almond milk instead. These are new my go-to cornbread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Made the recipe as written. I found this was more like a bran muffin than a traditional cornbread muffin. A little on the sweet side. Not bad, just different. Trying to move more to a vegan diet. I'll play around with this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My non-vegan husband loved these! I did change a couple things...I used egg replacer instead of applesauce because I didn't have any. I also used unflavored soy creamer because my "milk" was vanilla flavored. These turned out great, I will make these again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambria, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I was looking for a cornbread muffin recipe using no eggs and came across this. I ended up doubling everything but used plain non fat yogurt for soy milk and honey for agave. It's what I had on hand. Baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
GREAT cornbread! Everyone loved it! Very moist. It was a tad sweet for me, so I will use just a little bit less agave next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These were delicious! I substituted coconut milk for soy milk and olive oil for the canola but other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written and they turned out wonderful. One of the best cornbreads I've had and probably the healthiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Really, really good. I made 3 minor substitutions, but kept the ratios the same: apple butter for the apple sauce, regular whole wheat flour for the pastry flour, and maple syrup for the agave. These muffins ARE sweet, but not at all too sweet. The only thing I would want to change in a future version would be to increase the ratio of cornmeal to flour; I'd have liked these to have a stronger cornmeal taste. Future spinoffs could also include orange zest & cloves for a more spice-cake profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States