Veal Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I tried the recipe, but added ingredients to our taste. I added the following: 4 stems of cilantro leaves A touch of cumin Half a green pepper diced 1/2 a packet Sazon Goya with Cilantro and annatto seed coloring I mixed all the ingredients and placed them in my crock. Pot for three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was delicious. Adding some veggies would make it more stew-like, but I didn't change a thing, as my kids are picky, and this has nothing they would object to. I served it over noodles to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I followed other reviewer suggestions and it was very good. It was tasty and easy. Veal is expensive, but this is a keeper. I added carrots, diced potato, and celery. I sauted vegetables. I seasoned my veal and rolled in flour, sauted it separately. I prepared the sauce and then used my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
New favourite goulash recipe. Have done it a few times, tried beef instead of veal, works fine (with some extra time, must take care to add liquid though) and sometimes mushrooms. Tend to have mashed potatoes instead of the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hildigunnur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I agree with the majority of the reviewers. It is a great basic recipe that you can tweak to your liking. I followed the recipe but made some additions. I added celery, fresh mushrooms, and baby gold potatoes. I needed more liquid so I added beef stock and tomato paste. For spices, I added italian seasoning, garlic salt, and Mrs. Dash's Garlic and Herb. I also added a little Worcestershire and a few pinches of sugar. I took an hour and 15 minutes total on the stove. I added the mushrooms and potatoes at the last 15 minutes. It was absolutely delicious. Definitely a keeper and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Thanks to the other reviewers for their suggestions. It turned out great with some carrots, bell peppers, peas and some spices and Worcestershire sauce. I just wish veal was a little cheaper here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This dish is very similar to a childhood favorite that my mother made. The addition of a cup of chicken broth, whole button mushrooms,3 sage leaves, and a 1/2 cupf frozen peas made this the perfect meal....all served over a cremay polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Quick and easy, just added a package of mixed mushrooms. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Loved the recipe! I added a green pepper to this since anything with an onion deserves a pepper. I also substituted with tomato paste mixed with alittle bit of water to make sure I have the right amount of liquid. When adding the wine, I realized that I have a few different kinds of red wines open, so I did a mixture of those (probably more than I was supposed to.) I used whole grain pasta buttered up with parmesan cheese. The taste was great and I will definitely make this again and again. As for some left overs, I have frozen the pasta topped with the veal stew and will eat later on in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was a great hit...I put 1/4 vinegar 1/4 of water and a tsp of sugar instead of the white vinegar since I don't have that one in my kitchen.thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reyz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States