Veal Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Deeeelish! I altered the recipe a bit: Add (1) bay leaf, 1/2 C. chicken stock,(2) carrots, (2) celery, (2) potatoes, dash of oregano, and 1/2 canelli beans (optional). Words of advice: Sautee onions, carrots, celery, and garlic together. And add the potatoes and the beans in the last 1/2 hour so they don't get too mushy. I like this dish served over white rice. Great recipe; thanks Marie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME! My husband, daughter and mother enjoyed it immensely. I made a few changes though: I added 4tps Worchestchire, roasted my garlic as well as my diced tomatoes, and added a spring of thyme and rosemary in the last 30 mins. HINT: This stew is even better a day after cooking. So with that in mind, cook today and SERVE tomorrow. Crusty bread and white wine round out this hearty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimandRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This recipe was extremely easy to make and the veal was so tender. I think next time I will add some vegetables such as carrots and celery and perhaps a bay leaf because hubby and I felt like the recipe needed something else. Definitely will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Before adding the veal, I tossed in some flour, salt, pepper and paprika. Quickly browned the meat, removed, then added onions, garlic and 1/2 cu red wine. After cooking for a few minutes, & scraping up brown bits, reintroduced the meat and other ingredients. Also added 1T of tomato paste to deepen flavor. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheArnows

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I always hate when I read reviews and people mention how they changed the recipie but that's just what I did. I had no white wine in the house so I used red and made it in the crockpot with mushrooms and peas. Everyone Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This veal dish was excellent! When I added the white wine, I was worried because I didn't like the aroma, but as it simmered, it became heavenly! The meat was tender and melted in your mouth. I let it simmer an extra half hour than the recipe called for, and served it over noodles. This one will become a favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
First of all, this recipe is delicious and we will be making it again soon and for company. We did add fresh sliced mushrooms near the end of the cooking time and it was a good addition. I would like to think of a different name for this dish because it is not a traditional stew. I mixed the leftovers with the leftover noodles and the next day after having it for lunch, my husband said it was even better, if that's possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My husband's favorite! I do not change a thing. I just add some sliced carrots when I put everything together. I let that simmer on the stove for few hours. With about 20-30 minutes left I add some sliced mushrooms. YUM! Serve over egg noodles or if you want a real treat mashed potatoes. FYI...Finding veal stew meat at first was a huge challenge. Whole Foods sells it and it reasonable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
I don't cook veal that much because I'm just not used to the flavor - but this recipe is fantastic. My meat-picky kids liked this too. It smells heavenly cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This was a wonderful dish. It was easy , quick, and very satisfying. My wife loved the flavors. I didn't have any white wine so I substituted a Merlot. It worked just fine. I used some steamed carrots that I had leftover from the night before along with some sliced fresh mushrooms all served over white rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States