Veal Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I was debating between rice and noodles. Decided to stick to the recipe and had egg noodles. No regrets at all! The only thing I did different was add rosemary. My BF said he wanted even more herbs next time. Looks like it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Nice recipe! I used beef cubes instead of veal and they worked just fine. So did a cup of Marsala wine instead of white. I added an extra can of tomato sauce and carrots and potatoes--it made for a hefty supper for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Deeeelish! I altered the recipe a bit: Add (1) bay leaf, 1/2 C. chicken stock,(2) carrots, (2) celery, (2) potatoes, dash of oregano, and 1/2 canelli beans (optional). Words of advice: Sautee onions, carrots, celery, and garlic together. And add the potatoes and the beans in the last 1/2 hour so they don't get too mushy. I like this dish served over white rice. Great recipe; thanks Marie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
We had added cubed potatoes and carrots at the end to make a full meal out of it. It was a little bland, so my husband added some sea salt, pepper, paprika, and Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy Mix. FANTASTIC. Gave it a great zing. Will definitely make it this way again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Fantastic! My husband says he agrees carrots & celery can be added, but it's fine just the way it is. I increased all ingredients, except the veal to stretch the recipe. My husband says it's like a goulash/stew. I served it over mashed potatoes & everyone was happy! Thank you for posting it Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This is delicious! I added green beans to it and served with noodles. All gone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Doubled all ingredients except the veal amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I love this recipie. I have made it many times and it just seems to get better. I add a little fresh garlic and yumm. I do thicken it with flour so it has a thicker texture but I have made it exactly as the recipie is and loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
A good veal stew receipe is hard to find. I made it for the first time last night and made a few changes and it came out delicious. I read the other reviews and they helped. I was afraid it would be thin so I added cornstarch. Also, added veges and bayleaf. Served over egg noodles-great on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This stew was delicious. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. I added one extra 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, as well as a tablespoon of sugar and an extra splash of white wine. I also added chopped carrots and celery as other viewers suggested. I served the stew over steamed white rice. The meat was incredibly tender and juicy. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States