Veal Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This veal dish was excellent! When I added the white wine, I was worried because I didn't like the aroma, but as it simmered, it became heavenly! The meat was tender and melted in your mouth. I let it simmer an extra half hour than the recipe called for, and served it over noodles. This one will become a favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Before adding the veal, I tossed in some flour, salt, pepper and paprika. Quickly browned the meat, removed, then added onions, garlic and 1/2 cu red wine. After cooking for a few minutes, & scraping up brown bits, reintroduced the meat and other ingredients. Also added 1T of tomato paste to deepen flavor. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheArnows

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I always love cooking this recipe whenever I'm in the mood for some gourmet italian food. Whenever I can't find veal stew meat, I substitute lamb and it turns out great, but not as tender as the veal. I tend to serve this stew over herb and garlic pastaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
It's a keeper. We love this recipe. It's simple and very tasy. Usually serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
One of my first dishes ever...my family was IMPRESSED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Awesome recipe! Few changes as suggested by earlier reviews - 1 can white beans and 1/2 TLBS chopped fresh rosemary, both added in the last 30 minutes of simmering, Plus no onions only onion salt and lastly 1/4 tsp white truffle oil for a rich flavor. Great serve with suggestion other than rice or noodles...Ore Ida Roasted Potatoes(frozen - I used garlic parmesan flavor)...so easy to cook in the oven & they turn out nicely browned and crispy and are great to soak up the yummy sauce. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
A very nice base recipe, very good flavour and the meat was incredibly tender. Made it for the other half and he suggested that - as it has a very Italian taste - if we wanted to stretch it out (I suspect so he can have even more!) it might be an idea to add cannelloni beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was most delicious. I didn't have tomato sauce but used a can of Stewed Tomatoes and choped them up in my little microprocessor and also added 1/2 can of chicken broth. We were sopping up the sauce it was good. My husband who doesn't like meat ate all of his portion of the veal. It was a super recipie. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I tried this recipe last night and thoroughly enjoyed it! (DH thought it needed bell peppers but then he only likes veal stew when it has bell peppers!) Based on the previous comments and my on-hand ingredients, I made the following changes: used 2 T. minced garlic, 1 lb. veal cubes, 1 T. Wondra flour, 1 c. white wine (jug-type, on the sweet side), 2 bay leaves, and 2 c. baby carrots (cut in thirds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I was debating between rice and noodles. Decided to stick to the recipe and had egg noodles. No regrets at all! The only thing I did different was add rosemary. My BF said he wanted even more herbs next time. Looks like it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States