Veal Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Simply outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Is was OK. Probably my fault as the sauce was good, but the meat, an upper shoulder cut was icky. Ended up flouring the meat and frying before adding rest of ingredients as another reviewer suggested. Good idea. Also used garden tomatoes as I have so many. Will try again with a better cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was DELISH! but only because I added the following: 2 cloves garlic 1 bay leaf 1 fresh tomato 1/2 cup red wine 3 chopped carrots 5 chopped potatos 1 Green pepper 1 beef boullion cube 1/2 cup tomato puree 10 mushrooms Cooked on very low for 2.5 hours very tender and juicy! Ok I guess I added alot to this recipe but its fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was excellent. I used tomato juice instead of sauce because that's all I had (because of this I had to thicken it (with arrowroot) a little at the end). I also added some chopped celery and carrot and about 1/2 tsp of marjoram after the first 1/2 hr. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this pretty much as written, simmered a little longer, and only added some tomatoe paste to thicken as one reviwer suggested. I put peas in at the end and served over rice. It was a tender veal, but still bland for our tastes. Maybe some spicy grill mix seasoning next time, or over potatoes or better yet, a pasta that will not soak up all the sauce as the rice did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
REALLY NOT IMPRESSED! ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My husband's favorite! I do not change a thing. I just add some sliced carrots when I put everything together. I let that simmer on the stove for few hours. With about 20-30 minutes left I add some sliced mushrooms. YUM! Serve over egg noodles or if you want a real treat mashed potatoes. FYI...Finding veal stew meat at first was a huge challenge. Whole Foods sells it and it reasonable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME! My husband, daughter and mother enjoyed it immensely. I made a few changes though: I added 4tps Worchestchire, roasted my garlic as well as my diced tomatoes, and added a spring of thyme and rosemary in the last 30 mins. HINT: This stew is even better a day after cooking. So with that in mind, cook today and SERVE tomorrow. Crusty bread and white wine round out this hearty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimandRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Nice and easy veal stew recipe. The taste was luscious. I made as directed but added sauteed, sliced mushrooms that I had on hand and wanted to use up. That worked great and added another layer of flavor to the stew. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was very good...easy to make and the sauce comes out so tasty and the veal so tender! I served Italian Bread with it instead of buttered noodles and soaked up the extra sauce....yum! Will definitely make again...maybe next time with rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Mahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States