Veal Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
add vegetables for stew for an even more delicious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent prepared without alterations. I cooked on very low heat on stove in a dutch oven for 3 1/2 hours, then refrigerated overnight. The veal was incredibly tender and fell apart. Served over wide dumpling-style noodles with veggies on the side. Extremely delicious! Next time I will use a little corn starch or flour to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very nice recipe! I've made this a few times in the crock pot, using a light red wine instead of white and adding a couple sliced carrots as well. Served over egg noodles, this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacewarriorgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I would give this about 3.5 stars if I could. A decent recipe and very easy to pull together, though not anything mind-blowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I've been making this one for years. My "MIL" makes her veal stew like this, also small spareribs are heavenly in this very same way, don't forget the mushrooms, white wine is best, and served over Polenta - to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I thought I did something wrong because I didn't have the heavenly smell during cooking... but it came out wonderfully. Mushrooms helped to bulk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This recipe makes a tender & tasty veal stew, and gives the basic cooking instructions. I had bought some marked-down stewing veal and had a picture of what I wanted to do with it, so I Googled for "veal stew recipe." This was the first recipe that came up, and it matched my mental image. It's an excellent method. To match my picture, I made the following changes: I added mushrooms and carrots, and I seasoned with herbes de Provence and orange peel. The result was excellent. Possibly I should have used a little more liquid, but I was braising the stew, not boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Simply outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Is was OK. Probably my fault as the sauce was good, but the meat, an upper shoulder cut was icky. Ended up flouring the meat and frying before adding rest of ingredients as another reviewer suggested. Good idea. Also used garden tomatoes as I have so many. Will try again with a better cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was DELISH! but only because I added the following: 2 cloves garlic 1 bay leaf 1 fresh tomato 1/2 cup red wine 3 chopped carrots 5 chopped potatos 1 Green pepper 1 beef boullion cube 1/2 cup tomato puree 10 mushrooms Cooked on very low for 2.5 hours very tender and juicy! Ok I guess I added alot to this recipe but its fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States