Veal Scaloppini with Lemon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Excellent. This is just a beautiful recipe that made for a beautiful dish and an outstanding meal. While I also make this with veal, in this case I used turkey cutlets, a darn convincing subtitute for pricier veal, both in appearance and taste. I floured the cutlets before dipping them in the egg and the bread crumbs. I made my own crumbs, just seasoning them with my favorite Tuscan seasoning blend. These cook in just a couple of minutes per side, so watch carefully! Once they're brown, they're done! The sauce is rich, and velvety smooth, with the flavors of the wine, chicken broth and cream blending masterfully into this simple but absolutely delicious sauce. I did add some fresh minced garlic right after removing the meat from the pan, and cut back on the lemon juice - but that's just my preference as I wanted a more subtle lemon flavor than I knew I'd get with the amount called for. I served this with "Pastachutta," also from this site. I couldn't be more impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This recipe was very good. I liked the tartness of the sauce. The recipe as it stands makes a lot of sauce and it isn't very thick. Next time I might try thickening it a bit more and only making a half recipe of the sauce. All in all a good recipe and quick to prepare after work for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was fantastic. The lemon cream sauce was a very tart and I knew there was no way I was going to convince my children to eat it that way so I threw in 1/8 of a cup of sugar, it was still tart but it really took the edge off. 2 out of 3 kids wanted to dip everything they had on thier plate in it. Both my boys when back for 3rds and my 3 yr old daughter not only ate all her meat (no small feat) but asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very easy recipe. This was my first time making a veal dish and it tasted amazing. I removed both of the pepper items because I am allergic. Used 2 bullion cubes and 2 cups of water instead of the can of broth. I added 4 large cloves of garlic and substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the heavy cream to reduce the fat & calories. Overall this veal had a great taste to it and the sauce was perfect over linguini or any other wide noodle or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The sauce was rich and thick although it was a bit too lemony for me and my husband. One thing I changed was the meat I used chicken. It was so moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhahn1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a delicious dish after making a few personal alterations. I personally don't like my veal crumbed so i left it nude (as it where)but the lemon sauce toppped it beautifully and made it restaurant quality. Next time i make this though i shall pound the veal though just to make it a littlemore tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This review is for the sauce only, which I served over pasta. In Italy last June I ate a delicious lemon cream pasta, and I've been wanting to know how to do it without curdling the cream. This recipe is pretty darn close, and will be exactly what I was looking for with some adjustments next time I make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Not bad, but I personally think its a little to much work for a veal scaloppini. Could be just that I did a sub-par cooking job, or bad prep. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallieben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The sauce by itself was very tart but when paired with the veal it worked very well. Next time I would use a sweeter wine as this may have contributed to the tartness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I tried this over egg noodles, with fresh broccoli. Great recipe, only I substituted light cream for heavy, for thinner sauce, but a bit lower in fat. Really enjoyed this and simple to prepare. A glass of Sauvignon Blanc complimented the meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States