Veal Roast Blanquette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I have tried this recipe twice. Once with pork, and the second time I splirged and used the veal. I want to try it next with regular beef. It is a great recipe! the meat was so tender! My husband went nuts over this. He was putting the gravy in his plate and using bread to dip in it. I served it using the veal to some friends of ours with a nice salad and inexpensive wine, they told me that was one of the best dinners they have had and asked for this recipe. Try this recipe -- you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
excellent recipe!!!! I browned meat in oil and garlic before cooking. Sliced the meat, poured gravy on it and kept warm in the oven waiting for my family (30 minutes) which made the meat even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Great meal - family loved it. The veal was wonderful. Will make this again - and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Yes on tender, no on pleasing the boss! I even added salt, pepper and brandy. Definitely no depth of flavor with this. I have other recipes that I'll use when the boss comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wonderful! We truly enjoyed this recipe. I only added a little extra thyme and pepper. The gravy was fantastic. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Minor change - roasted veal in a bit of olive oil and diced garlic in the Dutch Oven. Pretty well followed the recipe for the rest. Taste was ok, but the gravy was a disappointment - expected so much more flavour. Essentially everything was boiled - not crazy about boiled meat/vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Great recipe, have made it twice now. I recommend salting the water before cooking and adding the vegetables you can make some tasty variations. Great recipe Anne, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. I used a clear mushroom soup broth that I had made the day before instead of the water and doubled the thyme. I also used zucchini and yellow squash from the garden instead of mushrooms and potatoes. Finally, for the gravy I removed all the veggies and plated them around the veal, then added the flour dissolved in water without the egg yolks. The end product was great. I served it with wild rice and garlic roasted brussel sprouts on the side. Even my husband who is generally not a veal fan had seconds. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States