Veal Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very nice flavour from the veal and mushrooms and beautifully moist. But I think I'll try it with fresh onions next time. Just something about the dried soup mix that didn't seem quite right - maybe it's the brand I used. Will definitely make again, though - so many thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I only had one pound of veal so I cut it in half, and I didn't use onion soup mix. Instead I chopped up half an onion and threw in some garlic and some sea salt. I also misread the recipe and ended up using "flavored" (not Italian seasoned it has a milder more subtle flavor) breadcrumbs by a company called Jason. My husband Mike is usually a big fan of mushrooms, but he felt they were unnecessary in this dish. Before he tried it he asked if he was going to want to put ketchup on it. He ended up eating his whole portion by itself, so I'm taking that as a good sign. I really liked it, and I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very sophisticated for meat loaf. All the adults ate this up; the children were less enthusiastic. The grated carrots and shitake mushrooms kept the meat moist and flavorfull. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
My new favorite meatloaf recipe. I did add a tablespoon of worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very moist and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I usually make meat loaf using italian seasoning. But this time, I followed this recipe to the tee and it comes out perfect! I love the taste of shiitake mushrooms. thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I found this recipe rather bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I like this one very much. The shitake's make such a great addition. I think next time I'll add fresh chopped onion, (more) fresh chopped garlic and some uncooked oats for texture. Very easy preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
My Whole family enjoyed it even the children!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe definitely needs some ravamping. I am not a skilled cook and followed this recipe completely. It unfortunately did not have enough flavor going on. I'm guessing some exploring in more seasoning would make this a more pleasing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States