Veal Forestiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever made out of a hundred or so new recipes I've tried over the past year. Veal Scaloppini is something I always order on a restaurant menu and this tasted just as good. I have tried to re- create it without success but now realize I was using dry Masala wine so you really need the sweet. I only had .70 of a pound of meat and I would have liked more sauce. Next time I would double it if I had a full pound of meat. I did not use artichokes. I added a pat of butter at the end and a light sprinkle of lemon zest before serving. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My family loved this meal. I served it over rice with caramelized Brussels sprouts. I had veal stew meat so I just cut it into smaller pieces. I used a sweet red wine since I didn't have Marsala, regular mushrooms, and a combo of chicken and beef bouillon mixed into the artichoke juice for the veal stock. It smelled wonderful while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful! I used a mediterranean flavored chicken broth in place of the veal stock and made risotto with it also, served over the risotto with grilled asparagus... Marsala wine makes it , would not substitute that, 1 T shallots & garlic seemed skimpy I didn't measure but probably did double...used marinated artichokes 14oz jar...also learned that baby bella mushroom is another name for crimini. will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
What an impressive dish! To say we enjoyed this immensely is a profound understatement. The veal was perfectly tender, a combination I'm sure, of having good scallopini to begin with and cooking it properly. The submitter's directions to cook the meat 1-2 minutes per side were spot on. Once you see the meat begin to turn opaque along the edges it's time to flip! I used vacuum-packed artichokes and I liked that alternative as it eliminated any of the canned liquid. Also, while a combination of beef and chicken stock would be the best substitute for veal stock, I simply used chicken broth which certainly didn't compromise any flavor here! Not that it was necessary because the reduced sauce is perfect and delicious just as is, but I swirled in a couple of pats of butter at the end over low heat just to give the sauce a rich, silky finish. Hubs made "Oven Baked Parsley Red Potatoes" and steamed haricots verts to go with. This was a joy to prepare as well as eat. It was as fine or better a veal dinner as we've had ANYWHERE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Although I have made dozens of recipes from this site, I felt compelled to review this one due to the outstanding quality. I followed the recipe exactly with two exceptions - I didn't have veal stock so I used beef broth and I only had baby bella mushrooms. The cut of veal I bought was veal for scallopini which were very thin. I did not add additional salt due to the saltiness of the beef broth. The skillet I used was a bit wider than I thought I needed but the extra surface area really helped the reduction. The instructions and measurements for this recipe were spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is delicious!! I have even made this using chicken because veal is so expensive. Makes a great meal for a special occasion....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttnshowmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I'm sorry to say my family did not like this dish. They told me I should have stuck to regular weiner schnitzels served with lemon. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was fabulous. One of the best recipes i've made. My husband has still not stopped raving about it. I substituted beef stock for the veal stock and Marsala wine and it was delicious. I would higly recommend this. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made two versions of this, one chicken and one veal. I got amazing compliments on it. This recipe was easy to make and tasted amazing! I will definitely be making it again. I used the jarred artichokes and extra mushrooms. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States