Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Not to sweet cake. Good taste. Putting the quarter inside and explaining to everyone what it meant then waiting for someone to find it was so much fun! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savantmi
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
It was fantastic, although I did add almond extract to the batter for a more almond-y flavor. It was a big hit at the New Years party! I did substitute a whole almond for the coin due to excessive drinking on New Years :) I originally put it in a springform pan but it started to leak in my oven! In a pinch I put it in a bundt pan, which turned out just fine. Excellent cake, not too sweet, needs no icing but would be good with an almond flavored glaze. Happy baking, and eating! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savantmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a very nice Vasilopita recipe. Being Greek, I've tried quite a few, this one is a keeper. Everyone really enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this for a new years party and although it was good I didnt get any rave reviews for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good! I usually wash the coin then seal it in foil and just stir it in the batter before I bake it. Next time I'll add orange juice and zest instead of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My brother and I made tihs together on New Years Day and it turned out very well! The cake is dense and moist, and delicious. Next time we agreed to try with some almond extract in the batter, or maybe orange zest to change it up a bit. In our oven, it needed to bake for a longer period of time, though, so keep checking it for doneness. Hronia Polla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was very good. Being part Greek, it was fun to try it. Be sure to watch your pan size, thought my 9" round pan was a 10", and it ran over in the oven, otherwise it was good. I will do it again next year, using a different size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I thought I would make this as a surprise for my husband, whose father is Greek. My husband hadn't heard of the tradition before but enjoyed the cake any way. I topped it with a powdered sugar glaze, which gave it a little more moisture around the edges. It is a very dense cake but we loved trying to figure out which slice had the quarter. It was a fun way to ring in the 2009 with a new family tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaile's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Made this cake for New Year's gifts for neighbors and it was fantastic! I used two 6" round pans and it looked just beautiful. Bake time was still about the same, although I did the sugar/almonds at about 18 minutes instead of 20 so they would stick better. Thought sliced almonds looked prettier than slivered as the recipe listed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made this potential family annual tradition in a springform pan which eliminated the tricky inversion process. Also substituted a whole almond for the lucky quarter (which would have required pre-santitizing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissysMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States