Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Ann Cushman
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
So good & fun to make...I like the little baking soda/powder to milk/lemon juice reactions lol....this is definitely a tradition in my house & this recipe is AHHHMAZZZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Ann Cushman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My husband is from Greece and loved this cake. He asked me to make it again this year. I wish I could find the picture from last years cake it was very pretty. I just sprinkled sugar and pomegranate seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this for an after dinner desert after a fondue party. Most invitees thought it was good. It is a very plain somewhat dense cake One of my kids told me it was a "hit"! Do not use Pam to line the cake pan as the cake will stick, use regular butter or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe, I modified it a bit by adding a teaspoon of almond extract to the batter,adding half a cup of evaporated milk and half a cup of heavy whipping cream instead of the cup of milk, and I made icing instead of using powdered sugar. I made the icing my using a can of sweetened milk, a quarter cup of heavy whipping cream, and a half cup of evaporated milk, then I added a teaspoon of almond extract. I boiled and stirred the ingredients until it became thick enough to glaze the cake, and I applied it as I would have applied the sugar then topped the cake with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Filipino_Chaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynne
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
A wonderful cake! I used a bunt pan and put a quarter wrapped in foil in the cake prior to the last 20 minutes of baking. Used bottled lemon juice instead of squeezing a lemon. Cooking time as listed worked well. The sugar and slivered almonds ended up on the bottom of the cake when removed from the bundt pan and looked great on the cake plate. I added a cake glaze with almond flavoring over the top and sprinkled it with sliced almonds. Everyone loved the cake and ate every last piece to find the good luck coin! Great fun for a group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this yesterday. Loved the texture and as others have said, not too sweet. I may have liked a bit of vanilla in it. I put a dime in the cake. My Mom used to put a dime in the cake for our birthday cakes when we were younger. And once in a while it was two nickle. SMiLE. I always thought it was a German thing, but maybe there was a Greek influence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
a little dry, I added some almond paste to it, helped a bit, this recipe actually makes 2 round cake pans if you care to split it up, a little marzipan would help even more with added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delicious!!! Very easy and very tastey!!!!! I've made it twice.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I ended up making it in bundt cake version because my cake pan was too small, but it came out wonderfully! My kids love it, and I think we are starting a new New Year's Day tradition. I used a whole raw almond for the good luck charm, which has yet to be recovered, but my kids love trying to get it with each piece. An excellent, easy recipe I'm so grateful someone thought to share. Thank you, Paul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States