Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Fantastic recipe!I am greek,living in Athens,was looking for a new vassilopita recipe and tried this one...my husband said it is the best he ever had,my children loved it,it was consumed on the spot,even after a rich new year's dinner! I topped it with our favorite creem cheese frosting,and wrote on top of it 2007 as is the tradition,using mini m+m's.Should have taken a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I served this for our New Year's brunch. It looked pretty and we all really enjoyed it. My 10 inch pans were on loan so I baked it in a tube pan for a total of 50 minutes. If you are expecting a sweet, fluffy dessert cake don't make this however if you appreciate a firm not-too-sweet European cake this recipe is for you. My Greek husband says you need to cut a piece for Saint Basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Made this cake for New Year's gifts for neighbors and it was fantastic! I used two 6" round pans and it looked just beautiful. Bake time was still about the same, although I did the sugar/almonds at about 18 minutes instead of 20 so they would stick better. Thought sliced almonds looked prettier than slivered as the recipe listed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I thought I would make this as a surprise for my husband, whose father is Greek. My husband hadn't heard of the tradition before but enjoyed the cake any way. I topped it with a powdered sugar glaze, which gave it a little more moisture around the edges. It is a very dense cake but we loved trying to figure out which slice had the quarter. It was a fun way to ring in the 2009 with a new family tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaile's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Not to sweet cake. Good taste. Putting the quarter inside and explaining to everyone what it meant then waiting for someone to find it was so much fun! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Apparently, this is the real thing. The greek inlaws (from Crete) absolutely raved about it. So esay to make and really delicious. I recommend it to anybody - especially if you have greek relatives you want to please. It sure worked here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a very nice Vasilopita recipe. Being Greek, I've tried quite a few, this one is a keeper. Everyone really enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
This recipe was really delicious. The only change I would make would be to bake it longer. When I followed the baking time in the recipe the center came out raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I can't rate it from personal experience because I made this for my daughter to take to school. She didn't get a slice either because everyone else scarfed it down. That must mean it's pretty good! I made it in a bundt cake pan and just shoved a whole almond into the cake instead of a quarter as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
An Excellent rich dense cake. This is great for a hostess gift. I topped mine with sugared pecans, and baked in a springform pan to enhance presentation. Also, I extended the baking time by 15 minutes. Got great reviews from all who tried it. Definitley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States