Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is definitely an old world recipe. The cake is a coarse texture and is not sweet like you expect a cake to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My teacher is Greek and brought this in to celebrate the new year. My friend got the quarter, but I still ate the cake! It was really good and apparently kid friendly. I might have to make this for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Not bad, a little dry. This is a heavy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Fantastic recipe!I am greek,living in Athens,was looking for a new vassilopita recipe and tried this one...my husband said it is the best he ever had,my children loved it,it was consumed on the spot,even after a rich new year's dinner! I topped it with our favorite creem cheese frosting,and wrote on top of it 2007 as is the tradition,using mini m+m's.Should have taken a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I served this for our New Year's brunch. It looked pretty and we all really enjoyed it. My 10 inch pans were on loan so I baked it in a tube pan for a total of 50 minutes. If you are expecting a sweet, fluffy dessert cake don't make this however if you appreciate a firm not-too-sweet European cake this recipe is for you. My Greek husband says you need to cut a piece for Saint Basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
An Excellent rich dense cake. This is great for a hostess gift. I topped mine with sugared pecans, and baked in a springform pan to enhance presentation. Also, I extended the baking time by 15 minutes. Got great reviews from all who tried it. Definitley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
This receipe was good. Infact it tastes better the second day. I had no problem with the baking time that the receipe called for. I didn't put the quarter in. Also, after I inverted the cake on the cake rack, I inverted again to a cake plate so the nut sugar mixture was showing on top. What a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
This recipe was really delicious. The only change I would make would be to bake it longer. When I followed the baking time in the recipe the center came out raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States