VanVoorst Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I think mustard and cream of mushroom just don't mesh so well. Maybe its an acquired taste. It wasn't terrible, but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Didn't like the mustard seasoning in it. Maybe with another flavoring or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Made this with no modifications. A little too much ham for me, and definitely too much parsley, but will make again! My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was easy and delicious. This is a perfect way to use up leftover ham. The mustard flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
we didnt like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We liked this casserole and yes, you can taste the mustard a little bit but we didn't find it overpowering as others stated. Maybe it helped that I made this up the day before and cooked it the next day. Great way to use up leftover ham and stretching it for another complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I'm not that great at looking at at recipe and figuring out how to modify it, so I always make it exactly as written the first time. It's good for what it is--a way to make use of leftovers using stuff that's probably already in your kitchen--but I probably won't make it again. Having said that, husband thought it was great--I think it was the mustard that did it for him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Too much mustard. Admittedly, I only like mustard in small doses. I made this recipe using my Christmas ham. It was too overwhelmingly mustard-flavored for me to eat--but the husband had few qualms! If you like a strong mustard bite, I would recommend this. If not, be sure to cut the quantity down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I tried to keep to the recipe as written, but I made small changes to make it more appealing to my boys. I did have to add some evaporated milk to the casserole ingredients as it was quite thick, we like a thinner macaroni casserole. I also added another half cup of mozzerella cheese to the casserole ingredients and some sauteed onion and garlic as well. I did not use the mustard, only because I had so very little for lunches this week. I planned on making a cream base for this from scratch but I ran out of energy and ended up using the last can of mushroom soup in my pantry. My boys seemed to like this okay, my littlest ate his whole serving, which was a bonus as that kid complains about everything these days. This made enough for three hungry boys and a lunch for tomorrow. I thought it was good, though next time I might doctor it up and maybe add a little hot sauce next time. It helped me use up pantry ingredients that I had on hand without spending extra money I don't have anyway. I appreciated that. This would be good with tuna instead of ham, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States