VanVoorst Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Good comfort food! I'd totally make it again. One reviewer mentioned an over-powering mustard flavor. I'm not a mustard fan, so I was nervous, but decided to roll with the recipe minus alterations. I agree that the mustard was a little over-powering in the sauce before cooking, but once the cheese melted though and worked its magic, the mustard faded into the background. The entire thing came out MUCH better than I expected after tasting the sauce prior to cooking. It was super easy and yummy. Note: The next day leftovers were kind of dry and disappointing, so you might want to make two small casseroles and bake separately if you're making two meals of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was good! I try to make things as written b/c otherwise it's not really fair to the contributor. However, I tasted this before baking it and the mustard flavor was pretty overpowering so I added the rest of the cheese instead of putting it on top, 1/2 - 1 cup of frozen peas (didn't measure) and approx. 1/4 cup of heavy cream to dilute the mustardy flavor. I then put some durkee french fried onions on the top. It came out really great, although I would definitely decrease the mustard next time. With my changes, I'd give it 5 stars but as written, I'd say 4. My only complaint is that the directions do not tell you to bake covered or uncovered. I covered it but it could have been a bit warmer in the middle so maybe uncovered would have been better? Also, next time I might throw in a touch more cheese :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I tried this recipe tonight, and followed it exactly. I enjoyed it and so did my two kids! Great way to make that leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
It was cheesier than I was expecting, but was still great. Definitely will be keeping this one on the list for future leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I tried to keep to the recipe as written, but I made small changes to make it more appealing to my boys. I did have to add some evaporated milk to the casserole ingredients as it was quite thick, we like a thinner macaroni casserole. I also added another half cup of mozzerella cheese to the casserole ingredients and some sauteed onion and garlic as well. I did not use the mustard, only because I had so very little for lunches this week. I planned on making a cream base for this from scratch but I ran out of energy and ended up using the last can of mushroom soup in my pantry. My boys seemed to like this okay, my littlest ate his whole serving, which was a bonus as that kid complains about everything these days. This made enough for three hungry boys and a lunch for tomorrow. I thought it was good, though next time I might doctor it up and maybe add a little hot sauce next time. It helped me use up pantry ingredients that I had on hand without spending extra money I don't have anyway. I appreciated that. This would be good with tuna instead of ham, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I had my doubts that the family would like this..they are quite picky. But it was a hit! My husband (who is especially picky) said to "keep the recipe". YAY!! I was a little skimpy on the mustard because of other reviews. It was very good. Next day I added a little milk to it before reheating and we all thought it was even better the next day. I used whole grain Rotini and a little bow tie pasta (regular, not whole grain) I had left in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe to use left-overs. It's easy and economical. The author did miss a step in the instructions but that step is such a no-brainer that its omission is entirely understandable. During step #3 you need to combine the cooked pasta with the ham/sauce mixture. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We liked this casserole and yes, you can taste the mustard a little bit but we didn't find it overpowering as others stated. Maybe it helped that I made this up the day before and cooked it the next day. Great way to use up leftover ham and stretching it for another complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Too much mustard. Admittedly, I only like mustard in small doses. I made this recipe using my Christmas ham. It was too overwhelmingly mustard-flavored for me to eat--but the husband had few qualms! If you like a strong mustard bite, I would recommend this. If not, be sure to cut the quantity down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was easy and delicious. This is a perfect way to use up leftover ham. The mustard flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States