VanVoorst Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe. I was nervous about the reviews about the mustard and salt, but I followed the recipe as is and it turned out great. The only thing I did different was the amount of mozzarella cheese I added. I love Cheese. It was missing something but I am not sure what it might be, but most definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was really good and a bit different. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used fat free sour cream and whole grain penne instead of spirals. I could taste the mustard but that was OK with me as I like it but it might be too much for some. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
We have made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed it as its written here. I too agree that the yellow mustard was over powering. The second time we made this we added some mixed veggies, used brown mustard instead of yellow, and added a dash or 2 of garlic. The first time around was good, but I liked it much better with these few tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tweaked this recipe with spinach and replaced 1\2 cup of sour cream with melted cream cheese and used a blend of Italian cheeses. I also added lots of garlic. This recipe was a hit at the dinner table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is one of my family's Favorite dish!! It's super tasty and quick and easy to make. I only made a few changes, I replaced the parsley with Dill and the yellow mustard I replaced with a dill spicy mustard. Great dish, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather1225

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Friendsville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I only had 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese, so I used Parmesan for the topping cheese and it worked out great. I also had to use dried parsley. I was cautious about the amount of mustard, so I only used 1 tablespoon, but I think the full amount would have been fine. Caution on the "salt to taste." When taste testing prior to baking, I added salt because it seemed to need it, then after baking and all the flavors had melded, it was too salty. It's a great way to use up left over ham and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
had to say, the mustard for me ruined the dish. I added frozen broccoli to mine to try and add a veggie element. may try it again, less the mustard and less (maybe 3/4 cup) of sour cream. 3 out of 5 for the boys and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Didn't have fresh parsley so just added dry parsley to the casserole mixture. No salt required on account of the soup and ham. Also cooked some fresh mushrooms in the microwave and added to the casserole. Goodo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Very good. Was concerned about it being too mustardy but after reading the reviews, I, once again, put my faith in complete strangers and took a chance on it. Once again, they were right. You could definitely taste the mustard but it was in no way over-powering or distracting. It was really good. Made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I just made this, however I made a couple alterations, I used swiss cheese instead of mozzerella, I like the combo of hame and swiss and I used dijon mustard instead of yellow. The flavor is very nice and not overpowering as some had said with the yellow. Will definitely had this recipe to my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States