Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
These are BY FAR THE BEST oatmeal cookies that I have EVER eaten! Use the pumpkin pie spice--it's what makes the cookies special!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
LOVE THIS RECIPE! I have baked them a million times and the recipe just get better and better! I don't add raisin. Big hit every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I’m giving 5 stars to the original Quaker Oatmeal Cookie Recipe. The original Vanishing Oatmeal Cookie recipe from Quaker Oats is usually found right under the lid of the canister of Quaker Oats. The recipe is exactly the same except for one ingredient the original recipe calls for cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice, we think the cinnamon taste much better in the cookies, of course the raisins and nuts are optional that’s up to your taste. If you do use raisins try softening them before you put them in the cookies it keep the texture more moist, I like to make mine a little bigger and don’t over bake them, keep them nice and soft. I always use butter never margarine but that’s also your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These are the best oatmeal cookies ever! My family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe -and as another reviewer stated, it's the same as the recipe under the Quaker Oats lid. I use the recipe as a base, and make some changes for a really good and tasty treat. *Instead of rasins, I use a cup of Craisins - the tart and sweetness really adds to the flavor. *Instead of walnuts I use a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Delicious! *And rather than pumpkin pie spice, I use a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of nutmeg. Nutmeg makes everything taste delicious, in my humble opinion. *I also highly recommend using real salted cream butter and cutting the salt down to a 1/4 tsp. WE LOVE THESE COOKIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethicuss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
These are really the best oatmeal cookies I've ever made. Instead of just all-purpose flour, I used 1/2 c. all-purpose flour 3/4 c. whole wheat flour. 1/4 c. mixture of oat bran, wheat bran and wheat germ. I also substituted cinnamon for the pumpkin spice. Additionally, I used dark chocolate chips and chopped mixed nuts. SOOOOOO yummy. Next time I might substitute apple sauce for half the butter, to make it a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This is almost the exact same recipe as Quaker oats vanishing oatmeal cookies. I used 2 sticks of unsalted butter, skipped the walnuts and used apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice. These cookies are so tasty and soft it really is hard to stop eating them! One more thing I do not grind up the raisins I don't think that is necessary. If you love oatmeal cookies you will love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
the very best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was outstanding. Most oatmeal cookies are too salty for my family, but this one was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
W
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States