Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I’m giving 5 stars to the original Quaker Oatmeal Cookie Recipe. The original Vanishing Oatmeal Cookie recipe from Quaker Oats is usually found right under the lid of the canister of Quaker Oats. The recipe is exactly the same except for one ingredient the original recipe calls for cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice, we think the cinnamon taste much better in the cookies, of course the raisins and nuts are optional that’s up to your taste. If you do use raisins try softening them before you put them in the cookies it keep the texture more moist, I like to make mine a little bigger and don’t over bake them, keep them nice and soft. I always use butter never margarine but that’s also your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I made this cookies a few times and the family members just loved it. But I replaced the pumpkin spice with cinnamon as I find it taste better. We prefer the cookies to be crunchy than chewy so I bake it for an extra 10 min. Is pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
These are BY FAR THE BEST oatmeal cookies that I have EVER eaten! Use the pumpkin pie spice--it's what makes the cookies special!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
These are really the best oatmeal cookies I've ever made. Instead of just all-purpose flour, I used 1/2 c. all-purpose flour 3/4 c. whole wheat flour. 1/4 c. mixture of oat bran, wheat bran and wheat germ. I also substituted cinnamon for the pumpkin spice. Additionally, I used dark chocolate chips and chopped mixed nuts. SOOOOOO yummy. Next time I might substitute apple sauce for half the butter, to make it a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This is almost the exact same recipe as Quaker oats vanishing oatmeal cookies. I used 2 sticks of unsalted butter, skipped the walnuts and used apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice. These cookies are so tasty and soft it really is hard to stop eating them! One more thing I do not grind up the raisins I don't think that is necessary. If you love oatmeal cookies you will love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I have made these as a staple for my family and to bring to work. I changed the recipe by using butter, 3/4 cup white sugar, I vary the raisins with dried blueberries, golden raisins, cranberries and dried fruit whirled in the food processor with a bit of sugar will work wonderfully. I never have black walnuts and I've substituted pine nuts, almonds, pecans whatever I happen to have on hand. I almost triple the spice, I use nutmeg, cinnamon, a touch of ground cloves and/or ginger they are fabulous. FANTASTIC I must make them once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
dried cranberries instead of raisins !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONJAROX
Home Town: Erd, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was outstanding. Most oatmeal cookies are too salty for my family, but this one was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
the very best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
Very good recipe. I added raspberry chocolate chips. Kinda tasted like something my Grandmother would have baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States