Vanille Kipferl II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My German Gammy mixes hazelnuts and almonds.(actually you can use any ground nut you like.) Also it will give the Kipferl an even better taste if you roast the nuts in an ungreased skillet before preparing the dough. I think Vanille Kipferl are THE best German Christmas cookies and as a matter of fact I am just munching a couple of them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We loved these! I found this recipe because someone gave me a container of vanilla sugar. I wasn't sure what to use it for. We tried to wait 3 days before eating them, but we failed. They were all gone well before then :) I plan on making them again when I do my holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I started with an original Vanille Kipferl recipe from my husband's grandmother in Germany. Since the measurements were all metric, I looked for a US version recipe and tried this one, trying to incorporate it with the original recipe. What a success! For the ground almonds, I bought the bag of Almond Flour at Trader Joe's. It was perfect! In Germany, you can buy little bags of "Vanille Zucker" (vanilla sugar), but since I didn't have any in my pantry, I used Vanilla extract instead and couldn't notice a difference. If any, I prefer the extract since it leaves a little vanilla aftertaste, more than the vanilla sugar, in my opinion. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A helpful hint: 7/8 c. butter is 14 TB. (or 1/2 c. + 6 TB). I didn't have almonds on hand, but put in about 1 tsp imitation almond extract and it was delicious. If your mixture looks more like crumble than dough after combining everything, that's ok! When you go to squeeze and shape the kipferls, the crumbs do turn into dough. Very delicious. I can't wait to share these with my mother-in-law who loves kipferls! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I first tried making these before christmas, and I tried skipping the step to put them in the freezer. Bad idea. They were burnt on the bottom and not cooked in the middle. So I tried again to make them, after christmas, and did all steps and they turned out wonderful!! I cant wait to make them next christmas and have people try them. My husband is from Germany and said that they were great. If you dont have vanilla sugar, and dont have the time to make it, I found a website that says you can make it by mixing 1 tsp of vanilla extract with 2 cups of sugar, mix it up and try to let it spread out in a large peice of tupperware, or a baking dish. After about an hour or so it will be hard, and you can just break it apart with a fork. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These were wonderful. My husband was born and raised in Austria and his eyes lit up when I made these. He could not stop eating them. It is true that they taste even better if you can hold off a couple days from eating them. They become very tender with a firm chew and deep flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAXAMY
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These are the favorite Christmas cookies of my German boyfriend, who lives in America... but I actually made these as a surprise for Valentines Day! I added red food coloring to the dough, and shaped them into hearts. They turned out really cute, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made these cookies for the first time for my daughters school project and although I played with the dough a bit adding and subtracting some things they came out perfectly and soooo very good. I gave the recipe out to 3 of the teachers, and what was funnier they didn't really want to share them with the kids. Adding vanilla sugar to the powdered suger mixture makes them taste even better and the almond flavor WOOOOOW! Perfect for begginers and I'll most definitly make them again...maybe next christmas as I will be in Germany YAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome ... my husband is German and he says these taste just like they do in Germany! Plus all our American friends loved them to. Watch out, they can be addictive! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States