Vanille Kipferl II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Converting recipes from Europe to Canadian or American is never easy. First of all, I have found from German recipes, the ingredients are not the same in Canada or the US. There is always some jiggling involved. I did not add the salt. Instead of the confectioner's sugar, I used white sugar and instead of the vanilla sugar, I used just plain old liquid vanilla. While I was mixing the dough up, I did have to add a little more butter and I used hazelnuts instead of almonds. All in all though, the recipe baked up really well and the flavor was wonderful. Our family has a German heritage and we all loved the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Stypa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Not exactly how I know them from Germany (I'm an exchange student right now)! But still really good and my host family liked them! XO Miriam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I wanted to warn anyone using this recipe for the first time - the amount of butter given, 7 tablespoons, is NOT CORRECT! I made it as stated, and the dough was unbelievably crumbly, even more so than a pie crust, let alone a cookie. I went ahead and baked one batch, but the longer I thought about it the more I felt something was wrong. So I searched and found several other versions of vanilleklipfer - all of which had at least twice as much butter. I mixed an extra 4 tbs into the remaining dough I had left, and those cookies turned out perfectly. The first batch, made as written, was dry. If you double the butter, these are delicious cookies, but please do not make as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this for a book club meeting, to replicate the kipferl made in The Book Thief. It was quite a disappointment. First, I could not get it to form into cookies, it just crumbled apart. I finally added some milk and could barely get them to stay together. Second, they are not sweet. I guess that's how it is supposed to be, but I was expecting a cookie so it was not sweet enough to me (I ended up drowning them in the sugar to try to get more sweet into them). Third, there is virtually no flavor in these at all. I even added almond extract as others suggested, but it was very bland. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My German Gammy mixes hazelnuts and almonds.(actually you can use any ground nut you like.) Also it will give the Kipferl an even better taste if you roast the nuts in an ungreased skillet before preparing the dough. I think Vanille Kipferl are THE best German Christmas cookies and as a matter of fact I am just munching a couple of them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We loved these! I found this recipe because someone gave me a container of vanilla sugar. I wasn't sure what to use it for. We tried to wait 3 days before eating them, but we failed. They were all gone well before then :) I plan on making them again when I do my holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I started with an original Vanille Kipferl recipe from my husband's grandmother in Germany. Since the measurements were all metric, I looked for a US version recipe and tried this one, trying to incorporate it with the original recipe. What a success! For the ground almonds, I bought the bag of Almond Flour at Trader Joe's. It was perfect! In Germany, you can buy little bags of "Vanille Zucker" (vanilla sugar), but since I didn't have any in my pantry, I used Vanilla extract instead and couldn't notice a difference. If any, I prefer the extract since it leaves a little vanilla aftertaste, more than the vanilla sugar, in my opinion. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A helpful hint: 7/8 c. butter is 14 TB. (or 1/2 c. + 6 TB). I didn't have almonds on hand, but put in about 1 tsp imitation almond extract and it was delicious. If your mixture looks more like crumble than dough after combining everything, that's ok! When you go to squeeze and shape the kipferls, the crumbs do turn into dough. Very delicious. I can't wait to share these with my mother-in-law who loves kipferls! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I first tried making these before christmas, and I tried skipping the step to put them in the freezer. Bad idea. They were burnt on the bottom and not cooked in the middle. So I tried again to make them, after christmas, and did all steps and they turned out wonderful!! I cant wait to make them next christmas and have people try them. My husband is from Germany and said that they were great. If you dont have vanilla sugar, and dont have the time to make it, I found a website that says you can make it by mixing 1 tsp of vanilla extract with 2 cups of sugar, mix it up and try to let it spread out in a large peice of tupperware, or a baking dish. After about an hour or so it will be hard, and you can just break it apart with a fork. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States