Vanilla Wafer Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Easy and delicious, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!! Used this for homemade banana cream pie :) Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was an easy crust (and especially good w/ the "Banana Cream Pie I" recipe from this site). Changes I made include: 1) I didn't measure the crumbs exactly - just approximated it and added more butter if it was a little dry. 2) I enlisted the help of my husband to crush the cookies in a Ziplock freezer bag w/ a small hammer from his toolbox over a cutting board (much easier than using a meat pallet). 3) I baked it at 350 degrees for approximately 10 minutes until it wasn't too soft. 4) I added 1/3 cup of white sugar before pressing it into my pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A great starter recipe that needs a lot of work. Keeping the story as short as I can.....40 cookies, 1/4 C butter, 1/3 C powdered sugar, a handful of walnuts, splash of vanilla. Pulsed in a processor. Took the advice of an earlier reviewer and baked at 350F for nine minutes. Poured in a Meyers Lemon filling and cooked for another 30 minutes. Maybe the best pie I've eaten and the crust was perfect. IMHO you have to cook this crust, especially with a non-bake pie, or the crust will be mush. I used a Marie Callender size pie tin and had more crust than I needed. Next time I'll use 30 cookies and maybe a tad more nuts....pecans or macadamias should be awesome in this crust. Anyway, thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I put the cookies in a food processor. The key is grinding the cookies until very fine. I made 2 crusts and used a whole box of cookies. Good crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very tasty and super easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good change from the normal graham cracker crust. I used my food processor, and pulsed the crumbs, butter, some orange zest and a little cinnamon sugar. I baked at 350 for 10 minutes, cooled, and filled with a pudding/cool whip mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Followed Sarah's suggestions and used for the Fruit and Cream Pie I recipe on here. Tasted great, making another one this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacyloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
To me I think if you add sugar it stays together alot better when I did it this way it fell apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Nice start to a good recipe. I used 40 cookies, 1/4 cup melted butter, and 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar. Combined everything in a food processor and pressed into a pie plate. Baked the crust at 350F for 9 minutes, let it cool stlightly and then filled it with my pie filling and baked the pie (I made Key Lime). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States