Vanilla Wafer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe. Instead of 1 cup white sugar I used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It makes for a chewier cookie. I made four separate batches. One using vanilla, one almond extract, one with lemon extract, and the last with orange extract. I used different toppings to differentiate the cookies (sliced almonds, yellow and orange sprinkles). All are quite delicious, but my family chose almond as their favorite. I also had mint extract but I just couldn't get into the mood to try it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a good recipe. You really must put 2inches apart as they spread while baking. I only had to bake for 10 min. I really had to watch the second batch 'cuz the first batch was burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a quick and simple yet tasty vanilla buttery cookies love these.But i sprinkle a little cinnamon sugar on top before baking them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
They were better than the boxed wafers, thats for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Amazingly good! They melt into your mouth and crumble! Make sure they don't brown to much but are lightly brown on the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Really good cookie recipe! Fast! I will make again, and I believe you could add craisins, chocolate chips, nuts or even crushed (drained) pineapple to the batter without hurting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Easy to make and they taste good. This is the closest I've seen for homemade Nilla wafers but the flavor and texture are not store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
yum..i just made them and they turned out amazing. The cook time took more like 30 minutes for me but i think that it just depends on your oven. But My family and i are really enjoying these and btw this is the first thing that i have baked that is not from a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have NO clue what I did wrong...... the batter was thin... and the cookies ran together. Eh, they still taste okay. I don't think I would make this recipe again. On a different note, me and my little brother thought it would be fun to add fruity cereal to half of the batter and sprinkles in the other. I also added a hint of nutmeg just for a little flavor boost. Pretty good all-in-all and they smell fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iloveliebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very good! I used 3/4 cup sugar as suggested by others and it was just right. You might as well double the recipe because they just won't last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States