Vanilla Wafer Cookies That Are Better Than Storebought Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hayssa Rodrigues
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is the best cookie recipe I've tried in years! Super easy and pretty tasty. I put brown sugar instead of white sugar and I added oat and chocolate chip too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayssa Rodrigues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Love these cookies! They turned out very well. Even Hubby and 17 yr old son loved them. That's saying something since they usually don't eat a cookie unless it has choc chips in it. :) A definite keeper. thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
So easy to make and hits the spot. Better than buying then, fresher and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Very good cookie, I found they are chewy not crisp like Nilla Cookies but I like that better anyway. Great alternative in my book. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was an amazing recipe for me, was just looking for an easy basic cookie for the family. This was prefect and easy. Tastes just a little sweet in my opinion but just like a nilla wafer except tastes WAY better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
excellent! for the most part, I kept ingredients as listed, but changed the method to combat the spreading and thin result others reviewed.I always bake with butter flavor crisco, bake with parchment paper and only bake on sheets that have cooled off, that helps spreading. after mixing dough, take the time to roll them into longs rolls of dough as in refrigerator cookies. yeah, it adds a little prep time, but it probably saves time in the long run. I quadrupled the recipe and formed the dough into around 7 long bread stick size wax paper tubes. let them sit in fridge all day, and only pulled one tube out at a time, slicing them into pieces the thickness of checker pieces. molded them a little as i placed them on the cookie sheet. got 27 cookies per sheet, at 4x7 rows. finished cookies were perfectly round, uniform and nearly identical in size to Nilla Wafers from the store. made a total of 18 dozen little, delicious, beautiful, impressive cookies! filled to galon size ziplock bags, needed extra cuz recipe. Am using them in banana pudding, will update this review after trying them out in the recipe. By the way, the amount of grease that is on the wax paper when you are slicing them is alarming, but the finished product is absolutely perfect. for the sake of health, next time i will try to reduce the amount of butter/shortening just a tad to see if i still like the cookie. overall, this is gonna be my go-to vanilla wafer cookie for sure! thanks, usmcwifey!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe normally, but when you roll the dough in cinnamon and sugar you have a great tasting snicker-doodle! Both ways are great, but watch out, they spread. A lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I've made these three times since I first found this recipe. I tend to make them when I want something sweet and cookie-ish but don't have anything on hand that fits the bill. Everything you need for them is probably already in your pantry. Add cinnamon and almonds and they're a total delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Dahler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These turned out great. Going to make banana pudding with them. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
just made these cookies, there so good. very chewy and has that beautiful texture! I LOVE IT THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States