Vanilla Wafer Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great office cake! I did, however, change the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1/4 c of sour cream and a tbsp of vanilla extract. Came out great, used bakers joy spray and had no issues with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put this in a 9x13 because I was afraid of the bundt pan. I think I should not have been afraid, as the entire cake was 'sliding' around in the pan! It had a good flavor with the coconut and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have made this several times. Trust me, it's better with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This has become a cake that my family absolutely loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this turned out so moist! i'm glad i followed the suggestion to grease and flour the heck out of the pan because it came right out after being cooled. i served this with fresh strawberry puree and it was awesome. i followed the suggestion of another user and ground up the coconut and pecans. i really liked the way the texture came out. definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Hey! This is a great cake. I have made this cake for everyone. I first saw the recipe on Southern Plate, Christy Jordan site. The most common comment about the cake is "you don't mean vanilla wafer cookies, do you". We love it with a warm strawberry sauce. You know, I think I will go and make the cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! Simple yet just delicious. Very dense and sweet. I didn't frost and I'm glad...would have way too sweet that way. However fresh whipped cream would be perfect. Made for a luncheon and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Absolutely delish!!!! I recommend you GENEROUSLY GREASE AND FLOUR PAN, AS WELL AS LET COOL IN PAN before removing. I did that, and it still broke in half, which was ok, because I just sliced it and set it on a plate, versus leaving it whole. The flavor was amazing. I baked in an angel food cake pan instead of a bundt, due to other reviews. I'm glad I did. I am making this again for Easter, I wish I hadn't of gave away the rest of the pieces of cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
WOW is all I can say about this simple but tasty creation! It all started with a coupon for a free box of vanilla wafers. I RARELY buy these, but thought, what the heck. I'll check Allrecipes and find something to do with them. After checking reviews for this recipe I decided to give it a go. The package of coconut I bought only came in 7 oz. so I was short 1 oz. Folks in my house aren't crazy about coconut or nuts, so I ground both up fine in my food processor. They gave the cake a smoother consistency while still maintaining great flavor. I took one reviewers advice and GENEROUSLY GREASED AND FLOURED my bundt pan. I normally use baking spray but another reviewer advised against it for this recipe. I also took yet another reviewers advice and let the cake cool in the pan about 12 minutes before flipping it out. PERFECT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiegirlnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful Cake!!!!! I made it this week and my entire family loved it! I did bake it in my angel food cake pan instead of a bundt pan and it came out perfect, I had no trouble getting it out of the pan. The only thing is that I had to bake it 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for. This is a super easy to make and delicious! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States