Vanilla Wafer Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Just as wonderful as I remeber. If you love coconut and pecans...this is the cake. Had been given this recipe years ago. Looked and looked but couldn't find it. Was very happy to find it here. Only changes I made was : (1) not to ground the pecans, I used chopped. (2) I added vanilla to egg and butter mixture. (3) I didn't mix waffers with coconut and pecans. I added waffer crumbs alternately with milk and then folded coconut and pecans in at the end. Everyone loved it...even the skeptics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
More of a bread than a cake. I don't expect to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great recipe,I had lost one very similar that my mother used to make. The only thing i do add is a tablespoon of vanilla. Always a huge hit and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The texture of this cake was definitely different--very dense. It got mixed reactions from my family. I was expecting it to be sweeter based on previous reviews on this site...I liked the coconut and ground pecans, but if I made it again I might add cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves and make it more of a spice cake--it seemed to be lacking something. Cream cheese frosting might help as well--I used Cool Whip since I was concerned the cake might be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great office cake! I did, however, change the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1/4 c of sour cream and a tbsp of vanilla extract. Came out great, used bakers joy spray and had no issues with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put this in a 9x13 because I was afraid of the bundt pan. I think I should not have been afraid, as the entire cake was 'sliding' around in the pan! It had a good flavor with the coconut and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have made this several times. Trust me, it's better with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This has become a cake that my family absolutely loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this turned out so moist! i'm glad i followed the suggestion to grease and flour the heck out of the pan because it came right out after being cooled. i served this with fresh strawberry puree and it was awesome. i followed the suggestion of another user and ground up the coconut and pecans. i really liked the way the texture came out. definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Hey! This is a great cake. I have made this cake for everyone. I first saw the recipe on Southern Plate, Christy Jordan site. The most common comment about the cake is "you don't mean vanilla wafer cookies, do you". We love it with a warm strawberry sauce. You know, I think I will go and make the cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States