Vanilla Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I used this to make french toast and it was amazing. The bread had wonderful texture and a subtle flavor that we really enjoyed. It was more work to make this the day before for the next morning's breakfast, but it was worth it! I made the recipe as written except I only had regular bread flour and not the high gluten kind, but the bread still rose up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I love this recipe. I don't have a bread machine so I had to change the process a little. I warmed the milk, water, sugars, vanilla, salt and oil in a saucepan and then added the yeast. I let the yeast bloom while I added 2 cups of the flour and the spices to my kitchen aid mixer. I have found that I like the flavor of the bread best if the spices are changed to 1/2 tsp each. Once the yeast bloomed I added the wet mixture to the dry mixture and mixed with the dough hook. I added the third cup of flour as needed as I have found that often this recipe doesn't need quite all 3 cups. I added just enough flour until the dough pulled away from the bowl and made a ball and then let the mixer knead it until it was smooth and elastic. I let rise in a greased bowl until doubled, about an hour. Punch down, make a loaf and then put in well greased loaf pan. I covered and let rise until doubled again and then baked for 30 minutes at 350. Beautiful! As per other reviewers, I can't wait to make it into French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Oh my gosh... this may be my new favorite bread machine recipe. However, I did not bake in the oven - I put all the ingredients in the bread machine as directed... used menu BASIC, Crust LIGHT, and LOAF size 1 1/2 . I did add one more tsp floor while it was mixing... but I often have to adjust water or floor. Absolutely delicious with butter as dinner bread. I can't wait to make french toast with it in the morning. Thanks for sharing this recipe. This one goes in my Mom's favorite recipes book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I have to rate it on what I did. I did alter the recipe a little. I used 3 tablespoons honey instead of the white sugar and I only had light brown sugar so I used that. I also used 2 cups all purpose flour and 2 cups whole wheat 3 cups flour just wasnt enough. I used all milk instead of the water and made it with my kitchenaid mixer instead of the bread maker. My kids are enjoying it right now and we love it. I may double the spices and vanilla next time, but it is yummy! Especially warm out of the oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrichardson3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This bread is excellent...the aroma just lingers and lingers, and oh my is it ever a bread lover's treat!! And toasting the bread just accentuates this wonderful bread's smell...tastes just as heavenly no matter how it is eaten. I substituted the water in the recipe with milk, so that all in all in the recipe, there was a total of 1 1/4 cup of milk. (using milk instead of water always makes for a softer crust.) I changed cardamom to 1/4 tsp ground; and changed coriander to 1/2 tsp ground. Perhaps the favorite of any bread I've ever made...was a HUGE hit at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I found this to be just a touch too sweet for me but it's very good. I could see this making fab french toast like many people have suggested. I made this by hand and had to add the extra flour as suggested. It worked up quite nicely and made a beautiful large loaf. I will definitely make this unique bread again to share with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
i love cardamom and vanilla, but i had never tried coriander in a sweet recipe. the use of it in this recipe really interested me, and i was really glad i tried it! this bread is delicious. although it bakes as a loaf and looks similar to white bread, it has a relatively firm crumb, which i was happy about - i made it to use in a french toast casserole i'm making. i can't wait to see how the french toast casserole turns out, i think the flavors of this bread will really make it shine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was good bread. I followed it exactly and my dough was way way too sticky, so I added 1/2 cup more flour. It was still pretty sticky but I thought this was how the submitter intended it to be. The bread didnt turn out real well but had a great flavor. I will make this again to see if maybe I messed something up. If not, then it definitly needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! I love love love the subtle spiced flavor of this recipe and the texture was lovely. I was concerned about not having any dark brown sugar, so I added a teaspoon of molasses to my light brown. I also only ever use all purpose flour for breads, so I added some vital gluten as well. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written and was so happy with the outcome. We had it lightly toasted with a bit of Cinnamon Cocoa Spread from this site, and I can't wait to try it as french toast. It should be amazing. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Amazingly good. Very moist and tender. Used cinnamon instead of coriander. Would be fabulous toast if I could stop eating it before toasting! 13 year old son told me he wished I had made 2 loaves as "this won't last long."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States