Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I made a few changes to this recipes I double the vanilla extract. I substitute cream for the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Perfect!! But with a few changes... I used condensed milk instead of evaporated, because I like thick, creamy pumpkin pie, and I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. I followed others advice and increased the vanilla, added some nutmeg, and replaced a third of the white sugar with brown. It turned out great, and is my new favorite pumpkin pie recipe! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
this recipe is extremely simple. however, it does need some tweaking. after following the directions exactly and reading the reviews after, i would say definitely wrap the crust in foil (mine burned and i only had it in for 28 minutes of the specified 40 at the end), do up the amount of vanilla, and do use more spice. not a bad recipe, just not as flavorful as you might expect from pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
it turned out great. my first time making pies. the crust burnt on the sides but i learned to cover the sides w/foil before baking. vanilla flavor is best for those who don't like the spicy flavored pies like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
You have to adjust the sugar/vanilla level according to what kind of filling you use, and according to your taste. When using "pumpkin pie filling", you can leave the recipe as it is or reduce the sweetness. If using "pure pumpkin filling" or fresh pumpkin, you might want to add more sugar/vanilla or spices. Just do a taste test before baking. I think that the recipe, as written, is best for "pumpkin pie filling". Also, I baked the pie in a water bath and with foil around the rim to prevent burning, and used the recipe "Best Ever Pie Crust" for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This pie is excellent. Tastes fresh because there aren't too many spices overpowering the pumpkin flavor. It's creamy and bakes high, not flat and hard like some pumpkin pies. Received many compliments on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Excellent pumpkin pie recipe. Even for a non-pumpkin pie lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Really easy and came out delicious. The vanilla flavor was very subtle so if you want to truly taste the vanilla I'd add a little bit more. The crust almost burned though...I recommend covering it with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
verry good. i added a bit more vanilla, it turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very easy,esp for beginners like me. It was good, better chilled than room temp. After reading the tips I used Pump.pie filling, dbled the vanilla and cinnamon, subbed 1/2 sugar with brown sugar and used a mix of evap. milk with sweet. cond. milk. Very creamy and mild tasting-sweet enough but no big WOW factor. Next time I will add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States