Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This recipe is great but I am only giving it 4 stars because I altered it so much. I used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated, doubled the vanilla and added 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice and one teaspoon cinnamon. It help up beautifully and cut very nice. It wasn't runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Delicious and easy to make! I accidentally used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk, but it still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I doubled the vanilla, as some others have suggested, and this recipe tasted just like a sugar cream pie... I couldn't taste the pumpkin at all. That said, the texture was very nice, and the taste WAS good. I'm just disappointed that the pumpkin flavor was missing in a pumpkin pie. If I make this again, I'll use the amount of vanilla listed in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This pie allows you to appreciate the pumpkin in the pie. Imagine that, tasting the pumpkin in a pumpkin pie! I make it multiple times every fall season and my family loves it! I use non-fat condensed milk and make my own pumkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this today from a pie pumpkin I bought over the weekend. After cooking the pumpkin in the oven, I pureed the pulp in the blender, and decided to just add all the ingredients in there (liquids first, followed by spices, then sugar, then flour). The pie is incredibly smooth. The only change I made to the recipe was adding a 1/4 tsp nutmeg and a bit more vanilla. It's plenty sweet without any additional sugar. So far, I've only eaten it warm, but I have a feeling I'll like it even more once it's cooled all the way... if it makes it that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent, I've never tried or made pumpkin pie, this one was a real hit. Around here pumpkin pie is not common and everyone loved it. I'll make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naybi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I don't know what happened with this recipe but it didn't work for me at all. The mixture was very watery and I followed the recipe down to the last bit. My crust burnt BAD and there was so much more filling then the regular 9 inch unbaked pie crust. I had plenty left over and the pie spilled over while baking. Something went wrong but I will keep trying. I love vanilla pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
All I can say is uuuuuummmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have used this recipe for a few years now. I only sub whole milk for evaporated as I can not get it in Korea. I often am lazy and make it with out a crust. Again, that is due to the fact that I live in Korea and there is no ready made crust available. Great easy to make recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was a pretty good, "unspicy" pumpkin pie recipe! I ended up using the filling, as described here, but I used a homemade graham cracker crust, to line a muffin tin - to make mini pumpkin pies. They were so cute! For the mini pies, you must start out with a 350 F oven temp for 15-20 minutes, and then reduce to 300 F for the remaining 30 or so minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States