Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
this recipe is extremely simple. however, it does need some tweaking. after following the directions exactly and reading the reviews after, i would say definitely wrap the crust in foil (mine burned and i only had it in for 28 minutes of the specified 40 at the end), do up the amount of vanilla, and do use more spice. not a bad recipe, just not as flavorful as you might expect from pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Really easy and came out delicious. The vanilla flavor was very subtle so if you want to truly taste the vanilla I'd add a little bit more. The crust almost burned though...I recommend covering it with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Excellent!! I didn't have any cinnamon in the cupboard, so I used 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (instead of recommended 2 tsp on the bottle). The pie had the subtle hint of vanilla and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Fantastic! A refreshing change from traditional pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I love pumpkin, but don't like the very strong flavor of it in most pumpkin pies. This was perfect and will be my new recipe for every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was a very easy and really good recipe. Nice difference from the spicy pies. Used 1 can of Sweetened Condensed Milk in place of the evaporated milk and sugar. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I thought this was good but I like pumpkin pie with more spice to it. I used a milk substitute for the evaporated milk and in one batch used brown sugar and make it with white sugar for another batch. I used this to make both pies and tartletts. They both came out lovely. No cracking with this recipe. The brown sugar batch came out tasting like a vanilla caramel pumpkin pie....really nice flavor. This had a nice smooth texture and was very light. I will use this recipe again but with some more spices like nutmeg and clove. I may even try it with cadamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Turned out great! My dad adores this pie... shhh! don't tell my mom but he said it was better than hers!! The only thing I found was that I couldn't fit all the pumpkin filling into the deep dish pie crust. I'll have to play with it a little to find out how much less of everything I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky C

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I served this pie at a family get together last weekend and everyone loved it. I just just a little more vanilla extract and the best ever pie crust recipe with this. This is definitly becoming a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Delicious pie, i added a pecan streusel topping just for some extra oomph. There are so many recipes for pumpkin pie it's nice to try a new one for fun every now and then. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States