Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe! It was hit at Thanksgiving dinner and was eaten up by bedtime. I used an extra large graham cracker crust. I made a foil tent to go over the pie to prevent burning on the edges. As many suggested, I also used extra vanilla, condensed milk, and a 50/50 mix of brown/white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flfishie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
this recipe calls for pumkin puree, and i wasnt sure what that meant... so I just went ahead and made it with libbys canned pumpkin, not pumpkin pie filling. it baked beautiful, but wasnt sweet enough and kind of bland... i just read DetectiveL's review of this recipe which explains that this recipe probablly intends for pie filling, otherwise its not sweet enough. i wish i read that review before i made the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I only made 2 changes, Instead of white sugar I used Splenda, & I increased the vanilla to two and a half tsp. of PURE vanilla extract. WONDERFUL!!! If your looking to cut back on a few calories, try the splenda, still very sweet. Place a nice size dollop of cool whip & VIOLA!!! So easy to make & yummy! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This pumpkin pie is fabulous. It is the perfect consistency and has an excellent fresh pumpkin flavor that gets lost in traditional spice pies. I had no hassles cooking it--the measurements, cook times and temperatures can be followed without adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very easy, very good pumpkin pie. I followed the recipe and baked it in a water bath. The result was a beautiful pumpkin pie enjoyed by my family. I served it with pumpkin ice cream...to die for Thanksgiving favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My grandma used to make the best pumpkin pie. All I know is that it had vanilla in it. Her recipe was lost when she passed away. This is the only recipe I have found that has a similar taste. It is awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I wasn't a fan of pumpkin pies. Maybe because my Filipino taste buds weren't used to it. But then one day a friend of mine tasked me to make one. I said I don't make pies but he wouldn't hear no for an answer. I saw this recipe and bam! It turned out great! They loved it and I loved it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Definitely a more mellow pumpkin pie than the traditional spicy... The combination of pumpkin, vanilla and cinnamon is delicious. I ended up with a little more mix than could go in the pie crust, so next time I might make 2 small ones or 1 big one. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Perfect!! But with a few changes... I used condensed milk instead of evaporated, because I like thick, creamy pumpkin pie, and I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. I followed others advice and increased the vanilla, added some nutmeg, and replaced a third of the white sugar with brown. It turned out great, and is my new favorite pumpkin pie recipe! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
easy to make, makes a pie full and then some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States