Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Loved how this pie came out! I used a fresh sugar pumpkin to make the pie by cutting the pumpkin into cube and peeling then boiled till tender and pureed in blender. I also followed some of the review suggestions; doubled vanilla, substituted 1/3 of the sugar with brown sugar, added extra cinnamon and a pinch of all spice. This is definately the best pie I've ever made or tasted! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Was gone in one day. Very moist, easy, & tasty pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I've made this a few times and now add more vanilla, b/c the flavor doesn't prevails so much other wise. It's really yummy and the only pumpkin pie I make any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I really wanted some pumpkin pie and I was going to use the recipe off the back of the pumpkin can (I used pure pumpkin puree, not pumpkin pie filling BTW) I decided to just browse through all recipes just to see if there was another simple recipe that I liked better. I found this one and it seemed really simple and I liked the idea of adding vanilla which wasn't in the recipe on the can. I admit that I did add the ginger and cloves though. I just didn't want to risk missing the spices. Every thing else I kept exactly the same. It tastes fantastic. What I don't get is that I baked it according to the directions; 20 mins at 450 and 40 mins at 350 and the edges didn't burn and I ended up having to bake for an additional 20 mins at 350 to get it done in the middle. I don't know why that was. maybe just a fluke. That never happens so I'm pretty sure it isn't my oven! Fantastic though!!! thanks for the recipe. The in-laws are coming for a visit in a few weeks and I think I'll make another one for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Everyone at my house was in love with this pie. I did up the cinnamon and vanilla by half and added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, but those were the only changes I made. Its funny, because I always thought I adored "spicy" pumpkin pies (lots of cinnamon, clove, ginger, nutmeg...), but this was out of sight. Who knew vanilla and cinnamon were all you needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
By far the best one I've made.I am not a fan of pumpkin pie but everyone else in my house is.However this one had Great flavor,great texture,and great presentation.Using just cinnamon is better than the all spice that goes into these pies.The only thing I didn't like staying put to change oven temps. But overall what awonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I combined it with the "Best Ever Pie Crust" recipe from this site. Although my crust turned out to be one of the worst ever, the filling was ok. I don't think the flavor merits the use of fresh pumpkin, as I couldn't foresee a significant difference when using canned in this recipe. As others mentioned, the lightness of the pumpkin pie is what makes it different. I'll stick with a pumpkin custard pie from the freezer section of my grocer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was the easiest pie I've ever made, and came out perfectly the first time. Tastes delicious and adds more flavor and uniqueness with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was really good. My husband, who does not especially like pumpkin pie, complemented me on this on Thanksgiving. The "best you have ever made" he said! I did add about a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I am making it again for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Subiaco, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My daughter made this pie and no one in the family liked it so I was very surprized to read the reviews. We did not use "pumpkin pie filling" but used reg. canned pumpkin. Maybe that was the problem. It was so bland, not enough spice or sweetness. I think it's funny that a lot of people rated it high, but most people also changed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States