Vanilla Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nicoleodeon
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This has become a family favorite each year at Thanksgiving. I usually substitute 1/4 tsp. maple extract for some of the vanilla, and put in a whole vanilla bean if I have one and I kick up the spices a bit with a bit of nutmeg and more cinnamon. In my experience, even people who don't like pumpkin pie love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My first time baking vanilla pumpkin pie. I'ts looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Vizcaino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Good, but I didn't notice the vanilla a whole bunch...not enough to call it Vanilla Pumpkin Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Amazing recipe I substituted condensed milk for evaporated milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reseda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
PLEASE READ BEFORE MAKING: If you use fresh pumpkin in the above recipe you will end up with a soupy liquid. You either must strain the fresh pumpkin puree (fresh pumpkin holds a ton of water) or use less than half the amount of evaporated milk the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nice pumpkin custard... the only change I made was to substitute pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Best pumpkin pie I have ear had. I made two changes, I used sweetened cond milk instead of evaporated and I used all of the can of pumpkin not just 1.5 cups. It was too much filling for the reg 9" shell. I put the rest in a small ramekin and it was cooked in about 15 min, gave a preview of the pie to taste. This pie is very sweet, not a spicy pie at all which is what we like. The bake time was exactly what the recipe calls for. I won't make any other pumpkin pie again. I made this to see if it was good enough for Christmas next week, I will make it again next week for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this recipe for the past 10 years and it's by far my favorite pumpkin pie. It is perfect exactly the way it's written. The pumpkin really tastes fresh in this recipe with the addition of vanilla. I also use sweet cinnamon which has a lighter flavor along with homemade whipped cream. Very good recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These are a few changes I made but it was an aazing pie! 2tbl vanilla, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 cup sugar, condensed milk instead of evaporated, added a little extra pumpkin(homemade puree)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Excellent! Added l/2 teas. nutmeg and about l/4 teas vanilla more. Fast became our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States