Vanilla Pear Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I just wanted to mention this recipe works best with a firm fleshed pear such as the D'anjou or Bosc variety as a softer fleshed pear (such as Bartlett) can tend to 'melt' into the batter and may affect the outcome. If you make these muffins, I do hope you enjoy them, and thank you for trying the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
what lovely muffins! my sons devoured these this morning, freezing the rest for their lunches. I doubled the recipe and got 20 muffins that baked in 25 minutes. I used all whole wheat flour and added a dash of cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and cardamon. I also doubled the pears as I had quite a few ripe pears to use up, thanks for a great pear recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and increased the yogurt to 1/2 cup. I also cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. The flavour was fantastic and there was a slight crispness to the outside but still very moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe. Instead of adding oil I substituted applesauce and added just over half of the sugar. Turned out really good. The applesauce made them more dense and not cakey which was my preference. I cored and sliced but did not peel my pears either. I baked at 375 for 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Muffins were great! They were moist and yummy. I made a double batch and added an extra pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very yummy! I made mini muffin bites instead of larger muffins. I also used canned pears I didn't have any fresh ones to use but they still came out great and full of flavor! I also used banana flavored yogurt instead of the plain vanilla yogurt because that was what I had in my fridge at the time! I will definitely will keep making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delicious and moist! I substituted some almond meal in for a portion if the flour and added a bit of cinnamon for good measure. Great muffins! They were a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I chose this recipe to use up some vanilla yogurt and pears. I was somewhat surprised that the main flavor of these muffins was of the whole wheat flour and the pecans topping each muffin. I didn't really taste the pears and vanilla as much as I would have liked. For me, this made 15 muffins. I substituted almond meal for the white flour but couldn't detect that flavor either. Instead of chopped pecans in the muffins, I put two or three pecan halves on top - this serves the triple purpose of adding roasted flavor to the pecans, decorating the top, and allowing non-pecan-lovers to pick them off. Since it was Christmastime, I also sprinkled red big-crystal sugar on top, which worked very well. I may drizzle some icing over them before I take them to the potluck. If I made these again, I think I might add more sugar or maybe buy pear flavoring?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States