Vanilla Pear Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I just wanted to mention this recipe works best with a firm fleshed pear such as the D'anjou or Bosc variety as a softer fleshed pear (such as Bartlett) can tend to 'melt' into the batter and may affect the outcome. If you make these muffins, I do hope you enjoy them, and thank you for trying the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
what lovely muffins! my sons devoured these this morning, freezing the rest for their lunches. I doubled the recipe and got 20 muffins that baked in 25 minutes. I used all whole wheat flour and added a dash of cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and cardamon. I also doubled the pears as I had quite a few ripe pears to use up, thanks for a great pear recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Muffins were great! They were moist and yummy. I made a double batch and added an extra pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and increased the yogurt to 1/2 cup. I also cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. The flavour was fantastic and there was a slight crispness to the outside but still very moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very yummy! I made mini muffin bites instead of larger muffins. I also used canned pears I didn't have any fresh ones to use but they still came out great and full of flavor! I also used banana flavored yogurt instead of the plain vanilla yogurt because that was what I had in my fridge at the time! I will definitely will keep making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delicious and moist! I substituted some almond meal in for a portion if the flour and added a bit of cinnamon for good measure. Great muffins! They were a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe. Instead of adding oil I substituted applesauce and added just over half of the sugar. Turned out really good. The applesauce made them more dense and not cakey which was my preference. I cored and sliced but did not peel my pears either. I baked at 375 for 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I chose this recipe to use up some vanilla yogurt and pears. I was somewhat surprised that the main flavor of these muffins was of the whole wheat flour and the pecans topping each muffin. I didn't really taste the pears and vanilla as much as I would have liked. For me, this made 15 muffins. I substituted almond meal for the white flour but couldn't detect that flavor either. Instead of chopped pecans in the muffins, I put two or three pecan halves on top - this serves the triple purpose of adding roasted flavor to the pecans, decorating the top, and allowing non-pecan-lovers to pick them off. Since it was Christmastime, I also sprinkled red big-crystal sugar on top, which worked very well. I may drizzle some icing over them before I take them to the potluck. If I made these again, I think I might add more sugar or maybe buy pear flavoring?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States