Vanilla-Maple Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
After reading the other reviews, I tried this with the following alterations and it got rave reviews with my family and our guests. And our version has NO SUGAR. Changed water to apple juice and reduced to 1 Cup, reduced corn starch to 1/3 Cup, and left out sugar completely. Reduced cinnamon to 2 tsp. It was perfect. We diced our apples to use in mini-pies, and refrigerated overnight before using, don't know if that would made a difference. This will be a keeper as I have had trouble finding an apple pie recipe we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I didn't read the directions before so I didn't cook anything I just added everything but the nutmeg and cornstarch. I have green apples from my tree and they needed to be super sweet for my easy as pie apple muffins anyways. I thought it was great. I like to add things or take things out to make it my own recipe but I'm very happy I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I liked this filling. It never did become clear and I maybe put 2tsp of cinnomen in. I really like teh maple flavoring and how thick the filling is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I was in a hurry & didn't take the time to read the reviews until after I made this. I had doubled the recipe and used brown sugar instead of white. I put most of it in the freezer, but left one to make up in an apple crisp the next day. I didn't find anything wrong with this recipe and my husband loved the apple crisp. I greased a 9x9 pan, put my filling in and topped with a mixture of 1 cup flour, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup margarine, baked at 350 for about 25 minutes. It was delicious. Not sure what all the bad reviews are about, my bunch loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This pie had very little flavor. My husband said it tasted like nothing. I am not a good enough cook to be at the recipe tweaking stage just yet...which is why I rely heavily on this website. My mistake was not reading the reviews before making this dessert. ...Sorry, to have to be so critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmarie47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was not appetizing at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I decided to change it and put it in the Moen Recipe Book, It makes it all that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandilion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I agree with other users. This recipe required some "tweaking". First off it should be 3 tsp of cinnamon, As well I added an additional 1 1/2 cups of water and cooked the apples in the syrup mixture. It was still a little on the thick side but overall not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I have never rated a recipe but this was just awful... TOO much cinnamon (and I used less) and how could a mixture with that much cinnamon be 'clear'? The whole mess was just a waste of time and ingredients,should have read the reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Totally unusable in current form. This must be a joke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States