Vanilla Kifli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
sorry but this recipe did not turn out well for me I'm afraid. The mixture was very crumbly and it would not stick together. Any suggestions? I don't know where I went wrong .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geordie in Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
SOOOO GOOD. If you like Walkers Shortbread, you'll like these. I make them when I make meringue cookies so I have a use for the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was a really easy, really yummy cookie! :] It tastes good with or without the chocolate dipping. The only problem I had was making it thin enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by neuslanjeant
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were really easy to make for my 6 year old daughter and I. We went a little overboard with the melted chocolate... we dipped each cookie until it was half covered!!! We also made our own vanilla sugar: 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract in a freezer bag. we let the mixture dry while the dough was sitting. The sugar became clumpy, so we crushed it back to granulated form. It worked perfectly! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
oh my god!!!! these r so cool!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For those who have no vanilla sugar, see note below from Allrecipes! vanilla sugar Wonderfully fragrant and flavorful sugar made by burying vanilla beans in granulated or confectioners' sugar-usually in the proportion of two beans for each pound of sugar. The mixture is stored in an airtight container for about a week before the vanilla bean is removed. The result is a delicious and perfumy sugar that can be used as an ingredient or decoration for baked goods, fruit and other desserts. Vanilla beans may be reused in this fashion for up to 6 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were wonderful and easy! Little mouthfuls of vanilla-cookie-awesomeness. I dipped them in dark chocolate and didn't have any vanilla sugar but used regular granulated sugar. That worked great and they tasted wonderful! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were great and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My grandma used to make several different types of Hungarian cookies, and these took me right back to her kitchen! They are fun to do with the kids because they can help with several of the steps. I am using them for a Christmas cookie exchange! They are delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I found this recipe here a couple years ago. I was baking cookies for gifts for our family and wanted to find recipes that matched all our different ethnic heritages. My parents are each about 1/2 Hungarian, so my sisters and I are as well, so it was nice to find some Hungarian recipes. These were so melt-in-your-mouth good. Really. I'm thinking of using this recipe for a cookie exchange coming up. The hardest part was coming up with the vanilla sugar. We don't live in an area where it's easy to find ready-made, so I had to find an easy recipe. But the flavor of the cookies is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States