Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I was very surprised with how good this was, especially since it has so few ingredients! Of course, I added crushed Oreos to it--but that makes ANY ice cream better! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is really good and light tasting. I halved the recipe and to make it taste richer I used 1 can evaporated milk and then added enough 1% milk to make 4 cups and doubled the amount of vanilla. (for the full recipe of 8 cups milk, it would be 2 tbsp instead of 1) I also added a handful strawberries that I crushed a little to the mixture just before freezing. The next time I make this I think I will decrease the amount of sugar just a little bit because I don't like super-sweet ice cream. But otherwise, it's really, really nice and guilt-free. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is the recipe I have been looking for. Most ice cream recipes taste like frozen Cool Whip to me, but this one is perfect! I use 2% Milk and a little less sugar and it's truly the only the dessert I have ever had that is low in fat, but doesn't taste that way. I use this one every time now. LOVE IT! I would give it 20 stars if I could! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Interesting. Not the usual ice cream texture. Everyone enjoyed this light,icy ice cream. And the best part about is, it's extremely easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Excellent recipe! Thank you for posting this!! This is the first recipe i made in my ice cream maker and it is a definite keeper! I may try to add strawberries next time. And it is just like snow ice cream!! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
this is SUCH a good ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This ice cream is pretty good. Since I don't have a maker, I just mix the ingredients (usually a big batch!) and put the bowl in the freezer. I check on it every 30 minutes or so and it freezes in a few hours. It's really great, and I recommend everyone try it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
so easy my kids can make a delicious snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Loved this recipe. Ice Cream tasted like the snow ice cream my Grandmother made when I was a kid. Best if served day it's made as it freezes very hard in the freezer. I made it with Splenda sugar substitute & skim milk. Quick, easy & tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've made this several times now and it's so quick and easy!! I cut it in half and it fits just right in my Kitchenaide stand mixer ice cream attachment. I like to use heavy cream instead of milk, and let it set in the freezer overnight. Mmmmm! My wife likes it better than Blue Bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States