Vanilla Ice Cream VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I had to try this simple recipe! I don't have an ice cream maker, so I just combined everything in a bowl, put it in the freezer, and then took it out every 30 minutes or so to beat the mixture with a hand mixer. Consistency turned out great, but unfortunately waaay to sweet for my taste :( I was thinking of throwing the entire batch out when it occurred to me to try adding some lemon juice to balance out the sugar, and what do you know, suddenly I had the most delicious lemon ice cream ever! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bergen, Hordaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was SO good! I was looking for a quick and easy cool treat to make on a hot day. This definitely hit the spot. My kids and husband loved it. I substitued Splenda for half of the sugar and it came out wonderful! I will be making it again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
The consistency was a little off but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
For such a simple ice cream I have to give this five stars! I was in the mood for a simple treat and I decided to buy a package of those instant milk drinks. The flavour was peanut punch. I mixed it up nice and thick, skipped the sugar as the drink already had enough sugar and still added in the vanilla. Let me say I was quite surprised at the outcome. Such a soft, light, creamy and delicious peanut flavoured ice cream! But I have to agree, if you are eating it right away it does start to melt quickly. Next time I will try this recipe as is though, I am sure it will be just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I thought the texture was refreshing and great for a less heavy ice cream. My husband added to much vanilla though, so don't make that mistake! This reminds me a lot of snow ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
It was a little runny and didn't quite freeze enough, but was relatively creamy. I think if I make it again I'll freeze it overnight to let it set. It has a good flavor to it. I added some orange extract to it and it had a dreamsicle flavor to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great ice cream recipe. I've used varying types of milk (i.e. skim, 2%, etc) depending on how healthy I feel and each time it turns out great. You can obviously add nuts, fruits, candy, etc. to change the taste of the ice cream, which is very fun! Thank you for this simple & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I agree with some reviews, it was more like a sweet slush. It was good, but I'm looking for a creamier ice cream. I think that's the difference between this recipe and recipes that call for heavy cream and maybe boiling it all. But it's a nice, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is really like frozen sweetened milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Wow! This is an excellent rich but not heavy classic no-cook, no-egg recipe. It's the recipe I remember eating when I was a kid and we would make homemade ice cream in the big machine packing the outside with rock salt and crushed ice. It doesn't get any better than ice cream with a 3-ingredient list. I also substituted some half and half for the milk which made it just a bit richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States